Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2014 Academic All-District At-Large Teams Announced

2014 Academic All-District At-Large Teams Announced

2013-14 Capital One Academic All-Distict At-Large Teams

Men's -- Women's

The 2014 Capital Once Academic All-District At-Large Teams, selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA), was announced on May 15th with the North Coast placing 12 student-athletes on the list.

On the men's side, Allegheny senior men's tennis player Pat Cole (Livonia, MI/Univ. of Detroit Jesuit) was a first-team selection in District 4, while five male swimming & diving student-athletes were selected to the top squad in District 7, including Kenyon senior Alex Beckwith (Midland, MI/H.H. Dow), DePauw senior Jack Burgeson (Saint Louis Park, MN/Saint Louis Park), Kenyon senior Andrew Chavlier (Golden, CO/Home Schooled), Denison senior Spencer Fronk (Greenwood Village, CO/Cherry Creek) and Denison senior Carlos Maciel (Recife, Brazil/Colegio Marista Sao Luis).

The women's District 7 first team included six NCAC student-athletes from four different sports, including DePauw senior field hockey player Chelsea Cutler (Victoria, B.C./Mt. Douglas Secondary), Denison sophomore golfer Brynn FitzGerald (Pepper Pike, OH/Orange), DePauw senior golfer Paige Gooch (Fort Mitchell, KY/Beechwood), Kenyon senior swimmer Syd Lindblom (Charlotte, NC/Providence Day), Kenyon sophomore swimmer Haley Townsend (Greenwood, IN/Center Grove) and Wittenberg senior women's lacrosse player Francince Murzynski (Mentor, OH/Lake Catholic).

First-team Academic All-District® honorees advance to the Capital One Academic All-America® Team ballot, where first-, second- and third-team All-America honorees will be announced the first week of June.

This is the third year of the expanded Academic All-America® program as CoSIDA moved from recognizing a University Division (Division I) and a College Division (all non Division I) and has doubled the number of scholar-athletes honored. The expanded teams include NCAA Division I, NCAA Division II and NCAA Division III participants, while the College Division Academic All-America® Team combines NAIA, Canadian and two-year schools.