MacPhail Named Finalist For NCAA Woman of the Year

MacPhail Named Finalist For NCAA Woman of the Year

NCAA Women of the Year Top-9 Finalists

Recent DePauw graduate Maggie MacPhail '15 (Indianapolis, Ind./Park Tudor) is now among the Top-9 finalists for the 2015 NCAA Woman of the Year.

Three women from each NCAA division were selected. Their college careers are highlighted by outstanding achievements in academics, athletics, community service and leadership.

The nine finalists are among 30 Woman of the Year honorees who will be recognized during the event. This group of 30 includes 10 honorees from each NCAA division and represents a range of sports.  Schools nominated 480 college athletes for the 2015 award.

MacPhail was an ace on and off the tennis court at DePauw University. She was team captain her senior year and worked as a first-year experience mentor, where she served as an advisor to 15 first-year students. MacPhail also served on the DePauw Student Philanthropy Committee and spent four years volunteering with the Team Riggle Foundation in its fundraising efforts to battle Parkinson’s disease.

MacPhail earned her undergraduate degree in biochemistry, and is working on her master’s in biology at Purdue University. She authored multiple articles regarding three research studies that focused on gastrointestinal health. She received the DePauw President’s Award for Excellence scholarship in all four years, and in 2013 she received the Condit Science and Mathematics Award. MacPhail is also a four-time United State Tennis Association/Intercollegiate Tennis Association All-Academic Team honoree.

On the court, MacPhail led her team to four NCAA championship appearances, including a 2015 NCAA regional team championship. She participated in the 2013 Division III singles championships and in the 2014 and 2015 doubles championships. In 2015, MacPhail received the USTA/ITA Arthur Ashe Sportsmanship and Leadership Award and the Amy Hasbrook Award, which recognizes the DePauw female senior student-athlete of the year.