Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

6 NCAC Winter Athletes Earn NCAA Postgrad Awards

6 NCAC Winter Athletes Earn NCAA Postgrad Awards

2016-17 NCAA Winter Sports Postgraduate Scholarship Awardees


The NCAA recently announced its NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship recipients for the winter sports season and six of the 58 athletes on the list hailed from an NCAC institution, including four from Kenyon College and two from Denison University.

On the men's side, the four recent graduates to collect an award included Denison diver Brian Allen (Flagstaff, AZ/Flagstaff), Kenyon swimmer Arthur Conover (Oakland, ME/Messalonskee), Kenyon swimmer Trevor Manz (Eau Claire, WI/Eau Claire) and Kenyon swimmer Ian Reardon (Upper Arlington, OH/Upper Arlington).

The two women from the NCAC to earn the distinction were Kenyon swimmer Ellie Crawford (Las Vegas, NV/Meadows School) and Denison swimmer Campbell Costley (Glencoe, IL/New Trier).

The NCAA awards up to 174 postgraduate scholarships annually.  The scholarships are awarded to student-athletes who excel academically and athletically and who are at least in their final year of intercollegiate athletics competition.

The one-time non-renewable scholarships of $7,500 are awarded three times a year corresponding to each sport season (fall, winter and spring).  Each sports season there are 29 scholarships available for men and 29 scholarships available for women for use in an accredited graduate program.

All former student-athletes who earned an undergraduate degree from an NCAA member school are eligible to be nominated by that school for an NCAA graduate degree scholarship, regardless of when they received their undergraduate degree. 

Brian Allen Arthur Conover Trevor Manz Ian Reardon Ellie Crawford Campbell Costley