Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Denison Takes Fall Lead In NCAC All-Sports Race

Denison Takes Fall Lead In NCAC All-Sports Race

2018-19 NCAC Fall All-Sports Update

CLEVELAND, Ohio -- Denison University earned two outright league titles and a share of a third NCAC title during the fall season to take the early lead in the race for the 2018-19 North Coast Athletic Conference All-Sports Championship. 

The Big Red posted top-five finishes in four of the seven fall championship sports, as they finished on top of the league in both field hockey and women's soccer, while landing in a three-way tie for the No. 1 spot in football. The Denison men's soccer team took a share of third, while both the men's cross country team and the volleyball team placed sixth and the women's cross country squad took seventh. The Big Red closed out the fall season with 50.5 points and a four-and-a-half point lead over Wooster (46.0) for the coveted Dennis M. Collins All-Sports Trophy. The Fighting Scots earned top-five finishes in four fall sports, highlighted by the field hockey and women's soccer teams both placing second in the 2018 league standings. 

DePauw, which won a league title in men's cross country, sits just one point behind Wooster in third-place with 45.0 points. Kenyon checked in at fourth just half-a-point behind the Tigers with 44.5 points after winning the men's soccer conference championship once again. Ohio Wesleyan currently sits in fifth with 41.0 points, while Wittenberg, after earning the league's volleyball title and a share of the football crown, is in sixth with 40.5 points. Allegheny and Oberlin tied for seventh with 33.0 points apiece, as the Gators claimed second-place finishes at both the men’s and women’s cross country championships and the Yeowomen earned the 2018 women's cross country title. Wabash (23.5) followed in ninth, as the Little Giants claimed a share of the football title, and Hiram (15.0) rounded out the fall standings. 

The All-Sports champion earns the Dennis M. Collins All-Sports Trophy, given annually to the school that performs the best across the NCAC's 23 sports. Ten points are awarded for a first-place finish, nine for a second, eight for a third, and so on. Men's and women's performances are combined, exemplifying the North Coast's commitment to equity and balance among programs. Wooster won three of the first four All-Sports championships, interrupted only by Denison in year two. Ohio Wesleyan followed with a six-year run, leading to titles by Wooster (twice), Wittenberg (once), Denison (nine), OWU (twice), and then a tie between Denison and OWU in 2009. Wittenberg earned its second All-Sports title in 2010, followed by Denison in 2011 and DePauw in 2012. Denison then claimed back-to-back titles in 2013 and 2014, before DePauw regained the championship in 2015. The Big Red then reclaimed the title during the 2015-16 academic year, while DePauw recaptured the prize again in 2016-17 before Denison took back the title once again in 2018.

Ohio Wesleyan leads the way with 155 team championships during the NCAC's 35 playing seasons. Denison is next with 145 titles, followed by Kenyon (118), Allegheny (117), Wittenberg (106), Wooster (82), DePauw (26), Wabash (23), Oberlin (20) and Hiram (2).

North Coast Athletic Conference 2018-19
All-Sports Standings

Men's Standings   1. Denison  50.5   Women's Standings
1. Wabash  23.5   2. Wooster 46.0   1. Kenyon 30.5
2. Denison 21.5   3. DePauw 45.0   2. Denison  29.0
 3. DePauw 20.5   4.  Kenyon  44.5    3. Wooster 27.5
 4. Allegheny 20.0   5. Ohio Wesleyan 41.0    4.   Wittenberg  26.5
 5. Wooster 18.5   6. Wittenberg 40.5    5. DePauw  24.5
 6. Ohio Wesleyan  18.0   7. Allegheny 33.0    6. Ohio Wesleyan 23.0
7.  Wittenberg  14.0     Oberlin 33.0    7. Oberlin 22.5
   Kenyon 14.0   9. Wabash* 23.5    8. Allegheny 13.0
9. Oberlin 10.5   10. Hiram 15.0    9. Hiram  11.5
10.  Hiram 3.5     * - Wabash is an all-male institution