Denison Vaults Into NCAC All-Sports Lead

DePauw University posted top-5 finishes in six of the seven fall championship sports to take the early lead in the race for the 2017-18 NCAC All-Sports championship
DePauw University posted top-5 finishes in six of the seven fall championship sports to take the early lead in the race for the 2017-18 NCAC All-Sports championship

2015-16 NCAC Winter All-Sports Update

Denison University won two winter sport league championships to along with three additional top-five finishes to vault into first-place in the race for the 2015-16 North Coast Athletic Conference All-Sports Championship.  

The Big Red secured their first league title in women's basketball since 2011 after finishing the regular season with a 15-1 mark against league foes. DU, which also topped the conference standings in men's swimming & diving for the eighth year in a row, also finished in the top-five in women's swimming & diving (second), women's indoor track & field (third) and men's basketball (tie-fourth). The Big Red rounded out the winter season by placing eighth in men's indoor track & field to earn 94.0 total points and a four-point lead over DePauw (90.0) in the race for the coveted Dennis M. Collins All-Sports Trophy. The Tigers kept pace with the Big Red after finishing second in women's basketball and third in both men's and women's swimming & diving.  

Ohio Wesleyan, which shared the 2015-16 men's basketball title with Wooster, is four-and-a-half points behind DePauw in third-place with 85.5 points. Kenyon currently stands in fourth with 80.0 points after winning its first conference title in women's swimming & diving since 2008, while Wittenberg rounds out the top five in fifth-place (75.0) after posting four top-five finishes this winter. Oberlin is sixth with 71.0 points, followed by Allegheny (63.0), Wooster (60.0), Wabash (43.5) and Hiram (34.0). 

The All-Sports champion earns the Dennis M. Collins All-Sports Trophy, given annually to the school that performs the best across the NCAC's 23 sports. Ten points are awarded for a first-place finish, nine for a second, eight for a third, and so on. Men's and women's performances are combined, exemplifying the North Coast's commitment to equity and balance among programs. Wooster won three of the first four All-Sports championships, interrupted only by Denison in year two. Ohio Wesleyan followed with a six-year run, leading to titles by Wooster (twice), Wittenberg (once), Denison (nine), OWU (twice), a tie between Denison and OWU in 2009. Wittenberg earned its second All-Sports title in 2010, followed  by Denison in 2011 and DePauw in 2012. Denison then claimed back-to-back titles in 2013 and 2014, before DePauw regained the championship a year ago. 

Ohio Wesleyan leads the way with 148 team championships during the NCAC's 32 playing seasons. Denison is next with 132 titles, followed by Allegheny (113), Kenyon (107) , Wittenberg (92), Wooster (79), Wabash (21), DePauw (19), Oberlin (15), and Hiram (2).

North Coast Athletic Conference 2015-16 
All-Sports Standings

Men's Standings   1. Denison
94.0   Women's Standings
1. Ohio Wesleyan 45.5   2. DePauw
90.0   1. Denison 57.0
 2.  Wabash 43.5    3. Ohio Wesleyan
85.5   2. DePauw 54.0
 3.  Denison  37.0    4. Kenyon
80.0    3.  Kenyon 48.5
 4.  DePauw 36.0   5. Wittenberg
75.0    4.  Wittenberg 43.5
 5.  Kenyon 31.5   6. Oberlin
71.0    5.   Oberlin 40.5
   Wittenberg 31.5   7. Allegheny
63.0    6.  Ohio Wesleyan 40.0
 7.  Oberlin 30.5   8. Wooster
60.0    7.  Allegheny 36.5
8. Wooster 29.0   9. Wabash*
43.5    8.  Wooster 31.0
9.  Allegheny 26.5   10. Hiram
34.0    9.  Hiram 17.0
10.  Hiram 17.0     * - Wabash is an all-male institution