Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

NCAC Football All-Decade Teams

NCAC 30th Anniversary Football All-Decade Team

Wooster running back Tony Sutton and the Wabash duo of quarterback Matt Hudson and inside linebacker Adrian Pyneburg highlight the North

Coast Athletic Conference All-Decade Football Team. The trio leads a list of 34 players who dominated NCAC football over the past decade, 2003-12.

Sutton {left} established himself as the NCAC's all-time leading rusher with 5,613 yards. During his two playing seasons in the previous decade, Sutton was the back-to-back Mike Gregory Award winner  as the conference's Offensive Player of the Year in 2003 and 2004. Over those two seasons he combined for 4,195 rushing yards and 61 rushing touchdowns. Sutton, who was invited to the Cleveland Browns Rookie Mini-Camp prior to the 2005 NFL season, still holds numerous NCAA Division III career records including rushing yards per game (187.1) and points per game (16.0).

Hudson {right}, a back-to-back Mike Gregory Award winner in 2008 and 2009, finished his four-year career at Wabash with 8,420 passing yards and 79 touchdown strikes through the air. Hudson's name still appears in the NCAC record book for career completion percentage at 66.1 as he connected on 635 of his 960 career passing attempts. In his four years, the Little Giants won three-straight NCAC Championships (2006-08) and also qualified for the NCAA Div. III Tournament in 2007, '08 and '09.

Pyneburg {left} leads a long list of gifted defenders that competed in the NCAC during the previous decade as an All-NCAC first-team selection for three consecutive seasons (2005-07). He also collected back-to-back Hank Critchfield Awards as the league's Most Outstanding Defensive Player in 2006 and 2007. In his four-year career at Wabash, Pyneburg accumulated 451 total tackles, including 73.5 tackles-for-loss and 26.5 sacks.

The North Coast Athletic Conference is celebrating its 30th playing season by selecting All-Decade teams in nearly every championship sport. Players from the first 10 years of play were selected in 1993-94, while players who competed from 1993-2002 were named to the 20th Anniversary All-Decade team. All current head coaches were asked to vote, as were some former coaches and administrators.

In the past decade, Wabash and Wittenberg each tallied four NCAC titles with the Little Giants winning three outright titles  (2007, '08 & '11) and one shared title (2006) and the Tigers claiming two outright titles (2009 & '10) and two shared titles (2006 & '12). The two schools combined for 19 of the 34 players selected to the 30th Anniversary All-Decade team. In total, 16 players were honored on offense, while 18 players were honored on defense.

The only active player to appear on the third NCAC All-Decade Team is current Wabash junior A.J. Akinribade, who is a two-time All-NCAC first-team selection (2011-12) and was the 2011 NCAC Newcomer of the Year.

NCAC All-Decade Football Teams