Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2013 All-NCAC Field Hockey Team Announced

2013 All-NCAC Field Hockey Team

Kenyon sophomore midfielder Maddie Breschi (Carlisle, PA/Carlisle) and DePauw senior defender Chelsea Cutler (Victoria, B.C./Mt. Douglas Secondary) have been named the Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, respectively, to highlight the 2013 All-North Coast Athletic Conference field hockey selections.

Breschi {right}, who also earned All-NCAC first-team laurels in 2012, garnered the Offensive Player of the Year award after leading the conference with 43 total points this season on 17 goals and nine assists. Her play helped the Ladies compile  an overall record of 13-7 and a 10-4 mark against league foes, good for third-place in the final NCAC standings. The Ladies also advanced to the NCAC Tournament championship game for the first time since 2008, ultimately falling to top-seeded DePauw by a 2-1 margin.

Cutler {left} garnered the Defensive Player of the Year award for the second year in a row and makes her third-straight appearance on the All-NCAC first team after bolstering the Tigers’ defensive unit that has surrendered just 19 goals in 1,482 minutes for a team goals-against-average of 1.15 through 21 games. Cutler has also added offensive production for DPU this season as she is third on the team with 11 goals and leads the team with 13 assists for 35 total points. The Tigers, who have won at least a share of three-straight NCAC titles and back-to-back league tournament titles, are making their fourth overall appearance in the NCAA Division III Field Hockey Tournament and will travel to Newport News, Virginia, on Saturday , Nov. 16 for a second-round contest against either Catholic or Messiah at Christopher Newport University.

Three student-athletes earned their fourth All-NCAC selection and third consecutive appearance on the first team, including  Denison senior attack Katie McMahon (Wilmette, IL/New Trier), Ohio Wesleyan senior defender Jenna Ortega (Glen Ellyn, IL/Glenbard West) and Wooster senior defender Josie Rey (Oak Park, IL/Oak Park & River Forest). The trio also garnered second-team laurels in 2010.

Denison senior defender Karla Dixon (Toledo, OH/Ottawa Hills) was named to the All-NCAC top squad for the third year in a row, while DePauw junior Paige Henry (Louisville, KY/Kentucky Country Day) makes her second-career appearance on the first team and third All-NCAC selection overall after being named to the first team in 2011 and the second team in 2012.  Wooster senior Nikki Sever (Loveland, OH/Mt. Notre Dame) is a three-time All-NCAC honoree as a member of the top team this fall after she earned first-team laurels in 2012 and honorable-mention accolades in 2011. DePauw senior Taylor Helms (Oklahoma City, OK/Casady School) elevated to the top team in 2012 after earning second-team laurels the last two seasons.

DePauw sophomore midfielder Grace Goodbarn (Highlands Ranch, CO/Mountain Vista) appears on the first team for the second year in a row, while Denison junior defender Alex W. Berman (Englewood, CO/Cherry Creek) elevated to the first team after earning second-team honors in 2012. Kenyon junior attack Rachel Hall (Los Angeles, CA/Harvard-Westlake) made the jump to the first team from the honorable mention squad last fall. In addition, Wooster senior goalie Meredith Farley (Saratoga Springs, NY/Saratoga Springs) makes her All-NCAC debut on the first team this season.

Oberlin freshman midfielder Ariana Enzerink (Davis, CA/Davis Senior) {right}, an All-NCAC second-team selection, was also named the Newcomer of the Year after netting six goals and passing out three assists for 15 total points in 19 games this season for the Yeowomen.

Denison interim head coach Nikki Wimsatt {left} was voted the Coach of the Year after leading the Big Red to a share of the NCAC regular season title with a mark of 13-1 against league foes and an overall record of 17-2.