Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2004 NCAC Field Hockey Tournament

Edited: Nov. 7, 2004

Semifinals: Wednesday, November 3
Finals: Saturday, November 6
Wittenberg 3, Wooster 2 (box score)
Wittenberg 4, Kenyon 2 (box score)
Kenyon 3, Oberlin 0 (box score)

Note: Kenyon, Oberlin and Wooster all finished the regular season tied for second. Kenyon won the
second seed after going 3-1 vs. KEN and WOO in the regular season; Oberlin is third after going 2-2
against the teams in the tie and Wooster is fourth with a 1-3 record against the teams in the tie.

Defending champion Wittenberg picked up its third straight NCAC tournament title. The Tigers swept through the NCAC Field Hockey Tournament, capping their run with a 4-2 win over Kenyon in the championship game. In the semifinals, Wittenberg edged fourth-seeded Wooster, 3-2. The Ladies, seeded second in the four-team event, had advanced to the final courtesy of a 3-0 win over third-seeded Oberlin in their semifinal matchup. As North Coast Tournament Champions, Wittenberg has earned the conference's automatic bid into the NCAA Div. III playoffs. First-round games are scheduled for Wednesday, Nov. 10. Complete matchups and site information will be released Monday.

The champion Tigers placed five players on the all-tournament team, and produced the tournament most valuable player, senior Blair Ufer (Ann Arbor, MI/Pioneer). Ufer led the Tigers with two goals and three assists. Seniors Melanie Boss (Dayton, OH/Kettering Fairmont), Carrie Happ (Pittsburgh, PA/Vincentian), Sarah Wallace (Reston, VA/South Lakes), junior Julia Wickham (Columbus, OH/Grandview) and sophomore Rachel Dunn (Pittsburgh, PA/North Allegheny) round out the Tiger honorees. Runner-up Kenyon had four individuals honored: seniors Liz Aragona (Bronxville, NY/Bronxville) and Hanna Hill (Columbus, OH/Columbus School for Girls), junior Kate Flinner (Fairfield, PA/Fairfield) and freshman Caroline Graham (Chadds Ford, PA/Westminster). Wooster placed two athletes on the all-tournament team: senior Kelley Hubbell (Vienna, VA/James Madison) and sophomore Anne Leigh (Englewood, CO/Cherry Creek). Oberlin senior Jaime Johnson (Cleveland Hts., OH/Laurel) rounds out the all-tourney selections.