2007 NCAC Field Hockey Tournament

Edited: Nov. 3, 2007

Semifinals: Wednesday, Oct. 31
Championship: Saturday, November 3
#1 Wittenberg 7, #4 Oberlin 3 (boxscore)
Kenyon 2, Wittenberg 1 (2ot) (penalty strokes)
#3 Kenyon 1, #2 Wooster 0 (boxscore)

Kenyon claimed its second straight North Coast Athletic Conference Tournament title after a thrilling championship final was decided by penalty strokes. The Ladies' 2-12-1 victory assures them of a repeat trip to the NCAA Division III Tournament as the Conference's automatic qualifier. Kenyon opened the scoring when sophomore Sasha Grumman found the cage 1:29 into the game. Wittenberg countered with a goal by freshman Tori Casanta five minutes later. The rest of regulation and both overtime periods consisted of end-to-end action and several excellent offensive chances which were defected by equally stellar defensive efforts. Kenyon had advanced to the championship after edging second-seeded Wooster, 1-0, in the semifinals. Junior Perrin Legg earned Tournament MVP honors. Freshman Sophia Daly, Grumman, and junior goalkeeper Karen Thompson joined her on the all-tournament team.

The Tigers had advanced to the championship courtesy of a 7-3 victory over Oberlin in their semifinal matchup - the highest scoring game in NCAC Tourney history. Five different players scored for Wittenberg, with senior Alison Voigt and freshman Boo Vernon leading the way with two each. The Tigers were represented by three freshmen on the all-tournament team: Tori Casanta, Meredith Price, Boo Vernon.

Oberlin and Wooster each had two athletes named to the all-tourney squad. The Yeowomen were represented by junior Abigail Brox and freshman Gillian Winbourn, while the Fighting Scots were represented by junior Anna Hurley and senior Kate Persing.