Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2009 NCAC Field Hockey Tournament

Edited: Nov. 7, 2009

Semifinals: Wednesday, Nov. 4 - 2:00 p.m.
Championship: Saturday, Nov. 7
#1 Wooster 4, #4 Denison 2 (boxscore)
Wooster 1, Ohio Wesleyan 0 (boxscore)
#3 Ohio Wesleyan 1, #2 Wittenberg 0 (boxscore)
Tournament Stats

Wooster claimed its second North Coast Athletic Conference Tournament title after a 1-0 victory over third-seeded Ohio Wesleyan in the championship final. The victory assured the Fighting Scots of their second straight trip to the NCAA Division III Tournament. With less than two minutes remaining prior to halftime, Amanda Artman got loose on a breakaway and sent a cross to Brittany Montgomery who one-touched what became the game-winning score. Wooster had advanced to the championship after topping fourth-seeded Denison, 4-2, in the semifinals. The Battling Bishops, who entered the tourney seeded third, had advanced to the championship courtesy of a 1-0 upset over second-seeded Wittenberg in their semifinal matchup.

2009 All-Tournament Team
Meredith Price, Wittenberg
Jenny Schaafsma, Wittenberg
Carly Tschantz, Denison
Bethany Keller, Denison
Christa Cocumelli, Ohio Wesleyan
Jen Doud, Ohio Wesleyan
Hannah Coughlin, Ohio Wesleyan
Brittany Montgomery, Wooster
Kate Valora, Wooster
Katrina Wojciechowski, Wooster
Tournament MVP - Stephanie Standera, Wooster

Edited: Nov. 4, 2009
Top-seeded Wooster will host third-seeded Ohio Wesleyan on Saturday in the championship game of the North Coast Athletic Conference tournament. Game time is 5:00 p.m. and the winner will earn the conference's automatic qualifier into the NCAA Division III tournament.

The Fighting Scots advance to the title game courtesy of their 4-2 victory over fourth-seeded Denison in the semifinals. Down 1-0, Wooster went on a four-goal run that included two goals from Laura German to secure the victory
. German tied the game at one goal apiece with her first tally and then netted what proved to be the game-winner. Amanda Artman and Brittany Montgomery each added a goal and an assist. Artman's was the 77th of her career, tying Wittenberg’s Amy Kraus (1994-97) for the NCAC record. Denison's Molly McCue had opened the scoring with her eighth goal of the season and Catie Merrick added her 18th goal of the season in the second half.

Ohio Wesleyan advances to its first tournament championship after edging second-seeded Wittenberg, 1-0 in overtime. The Battling Bishops and Tigers battled back and forth but neither could manage a score. OWU's Macie Miller finally broke through 32 seconds into the overtime sesssion. Abby Walsh sent a lead pass that freed Miller on a breakaway. Charging in one-on-one against Wittenberg keeper Jenny Schaafsma, Miller's shot to the right side found the back of the cage. Wittenberg was held scoreless foe the first time in their 2009 campaign.

Nov. 1, 2009

Wooster earned the tiebreaker over Wittenberg to enter the NCAC tournament as the top seed. The Fighting Scots will host fourth-seeded Denison (7-5, 11-7) in a semifinal tilt on Wednesday at 2:00 p.m. The two teams split a pair of one-goal games this season, with each winning at home. Denison claimed a 3-2 victory on Sept. 26, while the Scots took a 5-4 decision on Oct. 21. Wittenberg will host third-seeded Ohio Wesleyan (7-5, 9-8) in their semifinal matchup, also on Wednesday at 2:00 p.m. The Tigers swept the Battling Bishops this fall, 3-0 and 4-2. The championship game is set for Saturday, at the site of the highest remaining seed to emerge from the semis.

Tourney Notes: The tournament winner receives the NCAC’s automatic bid into the NCAA tournament ... Wooster is the defending tourney champion. Wittenberg leads the way with three tournament titles, winning the first three tournaments contested. Oberlin has one crown ... Wooster and Wittenberg have each earned their eighth straight tourney berths. They are the only teams to have competed in every tournament since the inaugural event in 2002. Ohio Wesleyan qualified for the second straight year. Denison returns to the tournament for the first time since 2006; this will be the Big Red’s fifth NCAC post-season appearance. Kenyon, a two-time tournament champion, failed to make the field for the first time in three years.