Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

DePauw Women's Golf Earns WGCA DIII Honors

DePauw Women's Golf Earns WGCA DIII Honors

2018-19 WGCA Division III Award Winners

The Women's Golf Coaches Association (WGCA) has announced the 2018-19 Division III award winners and DePauw took home several major honors.

Senior Larisa Luloff (Cary, IL/Cary-Grove) was one of seven Division III student-athletes to earn WGCA All-American first-team honors, while sophomore teammate Layla Ahmadi (Terre Haute, IN/Terre Haute North) was honored with the WGCA Division III Kim Moore Spirit Award for her work with Type I Diabetes. The award is dedicated to Kim Moore, who played golf for the University of Indianapolis (1999-2003), which recognizes and honors a student-athlete or coach who exemplifies a great spirit toward the game of golf, a positive attitude on and off the golf course, a role model for her team and mental toughness in facing challenges.

The Tigers' head coach Vince Lazar also took home a major honor after being named the Great Lakes Coach of the Year. He led the Tigers to their 15th NCAA appearance and has now earned the regional distinction for the third time in his career.

Luloff, the 2019 NCAC Women's Golf Player of the Year, and teammate Tarinni Sameer Kakar (Gurgaon, Haryana, India/Lotus Valley International School Gurgaon) were also selected to the WGCA Great Lakes All-Region Team.

All-American teams, All-Region teams, Golf Pride Regional Coaches of the Year, WGCA Division III Freshman of the Year and the recipient of the Kim Moore Spirit Award were recognized at the WGCA Division III Awards Banquet held in Houston, Texas.  Winners of the PING WGCA Division III Player of the Year and Division III Golf Pride WGCA National Coach of the Year awards will be announced following the NCAA Championships. For further information regarding these awards including selection criteria, please visit