Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Wabash Men; Ohio Wesleyan Women Capture 2013 NCAC Indoor Titles

 The Wabash College men's squad and the Ohio Wesleyan women's team captured the 2013 North Coast Athletic Conference team titles on Saturday evening at The College of Wooster in Wooster, Ohio. Wabash, which won its third consecutive team title, accumulated 220.5 total points to edge out Ohio Wesleyan (168.5), while the Ohio Wesleyan women earned its seventh-straight women's title after earning 195 points to edge out Oberlin (168) for the team title.

Wooster Championship Website

Complete Results

Wabash and Ohio Wesleyan were followed in the men's standings by Allegheny (58), Denison (54.5), Wittenberg (50), Oberlin (46), Kenyon (37), DePauw (36.5) and Wooster (31).
Ohio Wesleyan and Oberlin were followed in the women's standings by Denison (88), DePauw (63), Wooster (54), Allegheny (49), Kenyon (45) and Wittenberg (40).

Women's Most Valuable Performers:

Women’s Sprint/Hurdles - Denison junior Tiffany Davis (Madison, TN/Pope John Paul II) earned her second consecutive Sprint/Hurdles Athlete of the Year award after taking first in both the 60-meter dash (7.88) and the 200-meter dash (25.69), and was a member of the 4x400-meter and the 4x200-meter relay which each finished third.

Women's Distance - Oberlin junior Molly Martorella (Winchendon, MA/Murdock)  earned her second straight Distance Athlete of the Year honor after winning the 5,000-meter run in a time of 17:24.75 and crossing the line first in the 3,000-meter run posting a time of 10:21.43. Martorella also earned a second place finish in the one-mile run with a time of 5:12.06.

Women's Field - Ohio Wesleyan senior Emily Amburgey (Germantown, OH/Preble Shawnee) won the long jump with a distance of 5.26 meters and posted second place finishes in both the high jump (1.65m) and the pentathlon (2,949). Amburgey also earned fourth in the triple jump with a distance of 10.40 meters. 

Coach of the Year - Kris Boey, Ohio Wesleyan

Men's Most Valuable Performers:

Men’s Sprint/Hurdles - Ohio Wesleyan senior Silas Jolliff (Cardington, OH/Cardington-Lincoln) set individual NCAC records in the 200 (22.38) and 400-meter dashes (48.75) and helped set a new NCAC 4x200 relay record in a time of 1:28.01. Jolliff was also a member of the Battling Bishops' 4x400 meter relay which placed third. 

Men's Distance - Allegheny junior Bobby Over (Wadsworth, OH/Wadsworth) set a new NCAC record in the 5000-meter run posting a time of 14:32.43, besting the 10-year old record of 14:40.42 set by Allegheny alum Dan Princic. Over also finished third in the mile with a time of 4:23.55.

Men's Field - Wabash sophomore Derek De St Jean (St. John IN/Hanover) earned individual titles in both the shot put (15.13m) and weight throw (16.03).

Coach of the Year - Clyde Morgan, Wabash

2013 NCAC Heptathlon/Pentathlon Championships

Date: Saturday, Feb. 23-24    Host: Wooster

Heptathlon/Pentathlon Results

The first scoring events of the 2013 championships, the men's heptathlon and the women's pentathlon, took place last weekend at the Scot Center in Wooster. Denison freshman Aedin Brennan (Fairport, NY/Allendale Columbia) won the pentathlon with an NCAC record 3,280 points, while Ohio Wesleyan sophomore Matt Hunter (Lexington, MA/Lexington) won the heptathlon with a league record 4,731 points.

Team points from this event will be will be factored into next weekend's results toward the final team standings.