Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Ohio Wesleyan Women, Wabash Claim 2014 NCAC Indoor Track & Field Titles

Ohio Wesleyan Women, Wabash Claim 2014 NCAC Indoor Track & Field Titles

The Wabash College men's squad and the Ohio Wesleyan women's team captured the 2014 North Coast Athletic Conference team titles on Saturday evening at Denison University in Granville, Ohio. Wabash, which won its fourth consecutive team title, accumulated 256 total points to edge out Ohio Wesleyan (142), while the Ohio Wesleyan women earned its eighth-straight women's title after earning 193.5 points to edge out Denison (118) for the team title.

Denison Championship Website

Complete Results

Wabash and Ohio Wesleyan were followed in the men's standings by Allegheny (63), Wittenberg (49), Oberlin (47), DePauw (46), Denison (43), Wooster (31) and Kenyon (25). Ohio Wesleyan and Denison were followed in the women's standings by Oberlin (98), Allegheny (71.5), Wittenberg (61.5), DePauw (54), Kenyon (53) and Wooster (51.5).


Women's Most Valuable Performers:

Women's Sprint/Hurdles - Denison senior Tiffany Davis (Nashville, TN/Pope John Paul II) earned her third consecutive Sprint/Hurdles Athlete of the Year award after setting individual NCAC records in the 60 (7.80) and 200-meter dashes (25.14) and helped earn a 4x400 relay title in a time of 4:03.39. Davis was also a member of the Big Red's 4x200 meter relay which placed third.

Women's Distance – Ohio Wesleyan senior Cara DeAngelis (Norton, OH/Ellet) set the NCAC record in the 3000-meter run posting a time of 10:01.24. DeAngelis also set the Mitchell Fieldhouse record in the one-mile run crossing the line in a time of 5:01.41.

Women's Field – Denison sophomore Aedin Brennan (Fairport, NY/Allendale Columbia) won the long jump (17'03.50"), triple jump (37'01.00") and set the NCAC record in the pentathlon after posting a score of 3,441. Brennan, who accumulated the most individual points (44) of the meet, also finished seventh in both the high jump and shot put.

Coach of the Year - Kris Boey, Ohio Wesleyan

Men's Most Valuable Performers:

Men's Sprint/Hurdles - Ohio Wesleyan freshman Colin McShane (Columbus, OH/Olentangy) set an individual NCAC record in the 200 (22.21) and finished second in the 60-meter dash by crossing the line in 6.98 seconds. McShane was also a member of the Battling Bishops' winning 4x400 (3:23.17) and 4x200 meter relay which set the NCAC record with a time of 1:29.99. 

Men's Distance - Wabash junior Billy McManus (Fort Wayne, IN/Bishop Luers), who was the top-scoring individual male athlete of the 2014 Indoor Championships, finished first in the 5,000 meter run in a time of 15:05.84 and was the runner up in both the mile (4:21.23) and the 3,000 meter run (8:45.62).

Men's Field - Wabash junior Derek De St Jean (St. John, IN/Hanover) earned his second-straight men's field athlete of the year after setting the NCAC record in the weight throw (60'00.25") and winning the shot put with a toss of 51'09.75".

Coach of the Year - Clyde Morgan, Wabash

2014 NCAC Heptathlon/Pentathlon Championships

Date: Saturday, March. 1-2   Host: Kenyon

Heptathlon/Pentathlon Results

The first scoring events of the 2014 meet, the men's Heptathlon and the women's Pentathlon, took place last weekend at Kenyon. Denison sophomore Aedin Brennan (Fairport, NY/Allendale Columbia) won the women's pentathlon title for the second year in a row with an NCAC-record score of 3,441 points, while Ohio Wesleyan junior Matt Hunter (Lexington, MA/Lexington) also won the men's decathlon title for the second year in a row with a league record score of 5,155 points.