Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

OWU Sweeps 2016 NCAC Indoor T&F Titles

OWU Sweeps 2016 NCAC Indoor T&F Titles


The Ohio Wesleyan men’s and women’s teams swept the team titles at the 2016 NCAC Indoor Track & Field Championships on Saturday at Kenyon College’s Toan Indoor Track in Gambier, Ohio. The victory marked the OWU women’s 10th-straight league title, while the men topped the team standings for the first time since 2010, snapping Wabash’s streak of five straight conference crowns. 

The Bishops men, who lead the league with 10 NCAC titles all-time, accumulated 223 to edge Wabash (183.50) for the men’s title, while the women’s team earned their 15th title all-time with 171 points to prevail over Oberlin (131.50). 

Ohio Wesleyan and Wabash were followed in the men’s standings by Wittenberg (79.50), Allegheny (66), Oberlin (43), Wooster (37), DePauw (29), Denison (23) and Kenyon (17). 

In the final women’s standings, OWU and Oberlin were followed by Denison (91), Allegheny (79), Wittenberg (78), Wooster (72.50), Kenyon (44) and DePauw (28). 

Ohio Wesleyan head coach Kris Boey and his staff collected NCAC Coach of the Year honors in both the men’s and women’s competition. Boey has now been named the NCAC Women’s Coach of the Year for the sixth year in a row, while the award on the men’s side was his first since 2010 and his fourth all-time.

2016 Women's Athlete of the Year Award Winners

Women's Field: Monique Newton, Oberlin
Oberlin sophomore Monique Newton (Sacramento, CA/Rancho Cordova) was named the 2016 NCAC Women’s Indoor Field Athlete of the Year after finishing third in the weight throw with a toss of 52’08.75” and shattering the NCAC record in the Shot Put with a heave of 48’06.25”. Allegheny’s Lauren Butler held the NCAC’s previous benchmark in the event at 43’02.25” in 2011.

Women's Sprint/Hurdles: Brea Medlock, Wittenberg
Wittenberg senior Brea Medlock (Galena, OH/Big Walnut) earned the NCAC Indoor Sprinter/Hurdler of the Year award for the second year in a row after logging two individual event victories, two relay victories and setting one conference record. Individually, she broke her own NCAC record in the 60-meter dash with a time of 7.73 seconds, before going on to win the 200-meter dash in 25.35 seconds. She also ran the anchor leg on both the winning 4x200- (1:46.01) and 4x400-meter (4:00.97) relay teams.

Women's Distance: Abbey Warth, Ohio Wesleyan
Ohio Wesleyan senior Abbey Warth (Massillon, OH/Tuslaw) reached the line first in the one-mile run (5:04.61) and 800-meter run (2:16.86) to become just the third OWU women’s runner in history to win the NCAC Indoor Distance Athlete of the Year honor.

Women's Coach of the Year: Kris Boey, Ohio Wesleyan

Monique Newton Brea Medlock Abbey Warth Kris Boey


2016 Men's Athlete of the Year Award Winners 

Men's Field: Ahmed Abdel Halim, Ohio Wesleyan
Ohio Wesleyan senior Ahmed Abdel Halim (Toledo, OH/Ottawa Hills) earned the NCAC Indoor Field Athlete of the Year award after logging three top-five finishes, which included capturing the title in the triple jump with a leap of 46’04.75”. He also finished second in the long jump (21’08.75”) and fifth in the high jump (6’00.00”).

Men's Sprint/Hurdles: Adam Turner, Ohio Wesleyan
Ohio Wesleyan senior Adam Turner (Clyde, OH/Clyde) earned the NCAC Indoor Sprinter/Hurdler of the Year honor in his final conference meet after winning both the 200- (22.83) and 400-meter dash (50.12) events.

Men's Distance: Colin Rinne, Wabash
Wabash sophomore Colin Rinne (Westfield, IN/Westfield) won the men’s 5,000-meter run in 14:48.04 to earn the 2016 NCAC Distance Runner of the Year award. Rinne then went on to earn All-NCAC honors in the one-mile run in second with a time of 4:17.64, before capping off his meet with a fourth-place showing in the 3,000-meter run (8:43.47).

Men's Coach of the Year: Kris Boey, Ohio Wesleyan 

Ahmed Abdel Halim Adam Turner Colin Rinne Kris Boey