Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Yeowomen Win 1st Indoor Title Since 2009

Yeowomen Win 1st Indoor Title Since 2009


The Oberlin Yeowomen won their first outright women’s championship in history at the 2017 NCAC Indoor Track & Field Championships on Saturday at Oberlin College’s John W. Heisman Club Fieldhouse in Oberlin, Ohio. The Yeowomen, who also shared the title with OWU in 2009, cruised to the women’s title with 181 points, compared to 143 points for second-place Ohio Wesleyan, while the OWU men narrowly edged out Wabash for the 2017 title by a 164-161 margin. 

Trailing Oberlin and Ohio Wesleyan in the final women’s standings was Allegheny (133.50), Denison (76), Wooster (61), Wittenberg (45.5), DePauw (35) and Kenyon (26).

Oberlin head coach Ray Appenheimer was named the NCAC Women’s Coach of the Year for the third time in his career and the first time since winning back-to-back awards in 2009 & ’10, while OWU’s Kris Boey was named the NCAC Men’s Coach of the Year for the second-year in a row and the fifth time in his career. Listen to Oberlin head coach Ray Appenheimer's comments on the championship after the meet HERE.

2017 Women's Athlete of the Year Award Winners

Women's Field: Cirrus Robinson, Ohio Wesleyan
Ohio Wesleyan freshman Cirrus Robinson (Ashland, OH/Ashland) was named the NCAC Athlete of the Year for field events after she broke the longest standing meet record on the books with a leap of 5’08.75”. The previous record of 5’07.00” was set back in 1995 by Case Western’s Leslie Kindling.

Women's Sprint/Hurdles: Lilah Drafts-Johnson, Oberlin
Oberlin senior Lilah Drafts-Johnson (Melrose, MA/Melrose) collected the Athlete of the Year award for sprint and hurdle events after winning the 400-meter dash with a meet-record time of 57.18. She also finished second individually in the 200-meter dash (25.98) and ran the opening leg on the second-place 4x200-meter relay that finished with a time of 1:46.71.

Women's Distance/Middle Distance: Megg Cantlay, Allegheny
The Athlete of the Year award for distance and middle distance events went to Allegheny senior Megg Cantlay (Chagrin Falls, OH/Chagrin Falls) after winning the 800-meter run in 2:17.27 and running a leg on a pair of winning relay teams. She ran the third leg on the Distance Medley Relay that crossed the line first in 12:37.80 on Friday night, before closing out the meet by running the anchor leg on the winning 4x400-meter relay (4:03.71).

Women's Coach of the Year: Ray Appenheimer, Oberlin

Athlete of the Year 
Athlete of the Year 
Distance/Middle Distance
Athlete of the Year 
Coach of the Year

Cirrus Robinson Lilah Drafts-Johnson Megg Cantlay Ray Appenheimer