Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Oberlin Claims 2nd-Straight Indoor T&F Title

The Oberlin Yeowomen brought home their 2nd-straight NCAC Indoor Track & Field title on Saturday.
The Oberlin Yeowomen brought home their 2nd-straight NCAC Indoor Track & Field title on Saturday.

2018 All-NCAC Women's Indoor Track & Field Performers

The Oberlin College Yeowomen won their second-straight league title at the 2018 NCAC Indoor Track & Field Championships on Saturday at Wabash College’s Johnson Track/Knowling Fieldhouse in Crawfordsville, Indiana. The Yeowomen topped the team standings at the two-day meet with 197.50 points, which was 20 points better than Ohio Wesleyan's second-place total of 177.50. 

Allegheny checked in at third with with 102.50 points, followed by Kenyon in fourth (71.00), Wooster in fifth (52.00), Denison and Wittenberg in a tie for sixth with 41.00 points each, and finally DePauw in eighth with 16.50 points.

Oberlin head coach Ray Appenheimer was named the NCAC Women’s Coach of the Year for the second year in a row and the fourth time in his career. Over the course of the two-day meet, Appenheimer's squad collected five individual event titles and solidifed their second-straight league title with 15 additional All-NCAC performances.

2018 NCAC Women's Indoor Track & Field Athlete of the Year Award Winners:

Women's Field: Ana Richardson, Oberlin
Oberlin senior Ana Richardson (Eugene, OR/South Eugene) earned the award as the top field athlete over the course of the championship meet after she broke the NCAC record in the weight throw with a toss of 59'06.75" and finished second overall in the shot put with a heave of 42'11.50".

Women's Sprint/Hurdles: Lilah Drafts-Johnson, Oberlin
For the second year in a row, Oberlin senior Lilah Drafts-Johnson (Melrose, MA/Melrose) was crowned the NCAC Women's Sprint/Hurdler of the year after closing out the meet with a pair of individual event titles and another second-place relay finish. Drafts-Johnson topped the field in the 400-meters in a time of 58.67 seconds, before returning to the track just a short time later and capturing the title in the 200-meters in 25.78. She also ran the third leg on the second-place 4x200-meter relay that finished in 1:46.38.

Women's Distance/Middle Distance: Sarah Hevener, Allegheny
Allegheny junior Sarah Hevener (Hilliard, OH/Bradley) collected the award as the league's top distance runner over the course of the meet as she posted a pair victories in the two longest races. First, she broke the tape on Friday night in the 5,000-meter run with a time of 17:57.01, before returning to the track on Saturday afternoon and winning the 3,000-meter run in 10:21.73.

Newcomer of the Year: Jesse Margraf, Allegheny
Allegheny freshman Jesse Margraf (Mechanicsburg, PA/East Pennsboro) won the NCAC's inaugural Newcomer of the Year award after she logged second-place finishes in three different events at the 2018 NCAC Championships. Individually, she finished second in the mile (5:07.02) and the 3,000-meter run (10:25.43), while also running the anchor leg on the second-place distance medley relay that finished in 12:35.30.

Women's Coach of the Year: Ray Appenheimer, Oberlin


Athlete of the Year 
Athlete of the Year 
Distance/Middle Distance
Athlete of the Year 
of the Year
of the Year
Ana Richardson Lilah Drafts-Johnson Sarah Hevener Jesse Margraff Ray Appenheimer