Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2007 NCAC Indoor Track & Field Championships

Edited: March 3, 2007

Date: Friday and Saturday, March 2-3
Host: Denison University
Admission: No charge

Individual Awards


Outstanding Sprinter/Hurdler of the Year:
Ryan Ellis, Ohio Wesleyan
Nicole Bailey, Wittenberg
Outstanding Middle/Distance Runner of the Year:
Geoff Lambert, Wabash
Flannery Cerbin, Oberlin
Outstanding Field Athlete of the Year:
Joe McMahon, Allegheny
Emily Pfeufer, Allegheny
Coach of the Year:
Bill Ross, Allegheny
Kris Boey, Ohio Wesleyan

The Allegheny men won their fifth straight and seventh overall team title at the NCAC Indoor Track & Field Championships, held at Denison March 2-3. The Gators captured five first-place finishes to total 159 points and outdistance Ohio Wesleyan (114), Wabash (100.5), Denison (75.5) and Wooster (43) in the men's field. The Ohio Wesleyan women claimed their sixth NCAC crown, their first since 1994, with 183 points. Allegheny wound up second with 112 points, followed by Oberlin (106), Denison (60) and Wittenberg (58). The Battling Bishops seven first-place finishes.

Women's Most Valuable Performers: Wittenberg junior Nicole Bailey (Cincinnati, OH/Summit Country Day) earned Outstanding Women's Sprinter/Hurdler of the Year honors after she won the 55-meter dash (7.30), placed third in the 200 meters (27.01) and was part of the fourth-place 4x200 meter relay (1:51.93). She was also fourth in the long jump (16' 5.5") and second in triple jump (36' 1.25"). Oberlin sophomore Flannery Cerbin (LaCrosse, Wis./LaCrosse Central) claimed Outstanding Women's Middle Distance/Distance runner of the Year recognition for claiming first in the mile (5:05.23) and finishing second in the 800 meters (2:18.68). She also anchored the Yeowomen's second-place 4x400 relay (4:09.95). Junior Emily Pfeufer (St. Mary's, PA/Elk County Catholic) of Allegheny was selected Outstanding Field Athlete of the Year for the second straight year after winning the long jump (17' 4.25"), the triple jump (37' 9.5") and taking fourth in the high jump (5' 0"). Pfeufer also was a member of the third-place 4x200 relay (1:50.56).

Men's Most Valuable Performers: Ohio Wesleyansophomore Ryan Ellis (Columbus, OH/Dublin Scioto) took first in the 55-meter dash (6.64), the 200 meters (22.58) and was a member of the winning 4x200 meter relay (1:31.68) as well as the second-place 4x400 meter relay en route to earning Outstanding Men's Sprinter/Hurdler of the Year honors. Wabash junior Geoff Lambert (Chesterton, IN/Chesterton) picked up Outstanding Men's Middle/Distance Runner of the Year recognition after he won the 800 meters (1:52.72) and anchored the winning 4x400 meter relay (3:24.91), which set a conference record. Gator sophomore Joe McMahon (Pittsburgh, PA/Baldwin) was voted Outstanding Field Athlete of the Year after he won the triple jump (46' 8.25") and was runner up in the long jump (21' 8.5").

Coach of the Year: Allegheny head coach Bill Ross was named coach of the year of the men's championship for the fith consecutive season, while Ohio Wesleyan head coach Kris Boey earned his first coach of the year award in the women's championship.

2007 NCAC Indoor Track Team Results


1. Ohio Wesleyan

1. Allegheny
2. Allegheny

2. Ohio Wesleyan
3. Oberlin

3. Wabash
4. Denison

4. Denison
5. Wittenberg

5. Wooster
6. Earlham

6. Kenyon
7. Wooster

7. Wittenberg
8. Kenyon

8. Oberlin
9. Hiram

9. Earlham

10. Hiram