Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2009 NCAC Indoor Track & Field Championships

Edited: Mar. 7, 2009

Date: Friday and Saturday, Mar. 6-7
Host: Denison University
Admission: No charge

2009 Individual Awards


Outstanding Sprinter/Hurdler of the Year:
Michael Barnes, Denison
Beth Muller, Allegheny
Outstanding Middle/Distance Runner of the Year:
Jeramie Parker, Allegheny
Nicole Ouellet, Oberlin
Outstanding Field Athlete of the Year:
Erik Larkin, Wittenberg
Kayla Miller, Wooster
Coach of the Year:
Kris Boey, Ohio Wesleyan
Ray Appenheimer, Oberlin; Kris Boey, Ohio Wesleyan


The Ohio Wesleyan men won their second straight and eighth overall team title at the NCAC Indoor Track & Field Championships, held at Denison March 6-7. The Battling Bishops turned in 12 top-three finishes over 16 events to accumulate 148.5 points and outdistance Allegheny (137), Denison (73) and Oberlin (73) and Wabash (61.5) in the men's field. The Oberlin and Ohio Wesleyan women totalled 138 points to share the championship. The title is the first for the Yeowomen and the third straight, and eighth overall, for the Bishops. The co-champs are not only the first in the 25-year history of the women's event, but also in the history of track in the NCAC - men's or women's, indoors or out. The two teams entered the final event of the championship, the 4x400 relay, with the Bishops two points back (130-128) in the standings and needing to to finish in front of the Yeowomen. The OWU relay team of Rowena Jones, Rachael Newman, Kara Reiter and Sarah Shin crossed the line at 4:08.47 while the OC group of Ali Gemma, Laura Vernon, Amanda Miller and Madeline Schultz logged a time of 4:10.46. Allegheny wound up third with 109 points, followed by Wittenberg (83) and Wooster (49).

Final Results

Women's Most Valuable Performers: Allegheny's Beth Muller was named NCAC Sprinter/Hurdler of the Year after claiming victory in three events. Muller won the 400-meter dash in a time of 58.99 and then followed that up with victories in the 55-meter dash (7.48) and the 200 (26.41). Nicole Ouellet of Oberlin took home the NCAC Middle/Distance Runner of the Year award after winning both the mile and the 800-meter run. Ouellet logged a time of 5:15.89 in the one mile and returned later in the day to post a mark of 2:19.37 in the 800 meters. She is the third straight woman from Oberlin to win the award. Wooster's Kayla Miller received NCAC Field Athlete of the Year honors after placing first in Friday's triple jump. The senior recorded a combined leap of 34-09.75 which was over a foot longer then second place.


Men's Most Valuable Performers: The NCAC's Sprints/Hurdler of the Year award went to Denison's Michael Barnes for a second-straight year. Barnes racked up his fourth and fifth career victories on Saturday in the 200 and 400 meter dashes. In the 200 he came from behind to edge Oberlin's Soloman Turner by one-tenth of a second with a time of 22.58. He would also notch a win in the 400 meters thanks to his time of 50.23. In four years at the NCAC Indoor Championship Barnes has registered 12, top-3 finishes. The field event MVP award went to Wittenberg's Erik Larkin who won the long jump by covering 22'0.25". He also placed third in the high jump, clearing 6'0" and took second in the triple jump on Friday night. The distance/mid-distance runner of the year plaque was awarded to Allegheny's Jeramie Parker who took first place in the mile with a time of 4:13.85. He held off teammate Tony Dipre who trailed by just two one-hundredths of a second.


Coach of the Year: Ohio Wesleyan head coach Kris Boey earned his second straight coach of the year award in the men's championship, and shared the honor with Oberlin's Ray Appenheimer in the women's championship. The honors is Boey's third straight with the women and is Appenheimer's first.

2009 NCAC Indoor Track Team Results

1. Ohio Wesleyan
1. Oberlin
2. Allegheny
  Ohio Wesleyan
3. Denison
3. Allegheny
4. Wittenebrg
5. Wabash
5. Wooster
6. Wittenberg
6. Denison
7. Wooster
7. Earlham
8. Kenyon
8. Kenyon
9. Earlham
9. Hiram
10. Hiram