Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2010 NCAC Indoor Track & Field Championships

Edited: Mar. 8, 2010

Combined Events Championships

Date: Saturday, Feb. 27    Host: Oberlin    Admission: No charge

Men's Standings
Women's Standings
Event-by-event results

Oberlin senior Madeline Schultz won the women’s pentathlon with 2,920 points.She won the 800-meter run and finished second in the high jump, long jump and shot put. Wittenberg's Whitney Goller won the 55-meter hurdles and the long jump. Ohio Wesleyan's Emily Amburgey took the title in the high jump. Kenyon's Cary Watts finished first in the shot put.

Wabash junior Wes Chamblee won the men’s pentathlon with 3,240 points - a Wabash record for the event. He won both the 1000-meter run and the 55-meter hurdles and finished second in the high jump and shot put. Ohio Wesleyan's David Burke topped the field in the high jump and long jump, while Oberlin's Josh Gallagher won the shot.

Team points from this event will be will be factored into next weekend's results toward the final team standings.

Indoor Track Championships

Date: Friday and Saturday, March 5-6    Host: Denison    Admission: no charge


OWU men 2010
The Ohio Wesleyan men won their third straight and ninth overall team title at the NCAC Indoor Track & Field Championships, held at Denison March 5-6. The Bishop men captured six event titles and seven other top-three finishes to total 165 points. Wabash was second with 150 points as the Little Giants, who tied their best finish ever, won four events. Allegheny was third with 83 points and three event championships. Oberlin (79), Wittenberg (66.5) and Denison (44) finished fourth, fifth and sixth, respectively. Earlham (32), Wooster (30) and Kenyon (21.5) took places seven through nine.

The Ohio Wesleyan women also claimed their ninth NCAC crown, and fourth in a row, with 164.5 points. The Battling Bishops posted three event titles and nine other top-three finishes. Oberlin was second with 150 points and seven event championships. Allegheny (113.5) was third with four event titles, followed by Wittenberg (75) in fourth. Dension (51), Kenyon (43), Wooster (39) and Earlham (27) rounded out places five through eight.

Women's Most Valuable Performers:
Women’s Sprint/Hurdles - Junior Beth Muller (Canton, MA/Canton) defended her conference titles in the 55 meters (7.51 seconds) the 200 meters (26.37), and was second in the 400 meters (1:00.08) at the NCAC Championships to earn Sprinter/Hurdler of the Year honors for the second time.

Women’s Distance - Oberlin senior Clara Shaw (Roseville, MN/Roseville Area) won the 800 meters in NCAA provisional qualifying time (2:16.35). She also took first place in the mile (5:06.43).

Women’s Field - Allegheny sophomore Lauren Butler (New Kensington, PA/Kiski Area) won the shot put with a throw of 41 feet, 9.75 inches. She is the NCAC’s Indoor shot put champion for the second straight year.

Men's Most Valuable Performers:
Men’s Sprint/Hurdles - Freshman Jake Eldridge (London, OH/London) of Ohio Wesleyan won the 55 meters in 6.57 seconds, and was part of two champion relay teams at the NCAC Championships. He led off the first-place 4x200 (1:30.29) and 4x400 (3:23.09) relays.

Men’s Distance - Senior Tony Dipre (Twinsburg, OH/Walsh Jesuit) of Allegheny won the mile in conference-record time of 4:10.84, which also automatically qualified him for this week’s NCAA Division III Championships. Dipre was also part of the champion distance medley relay that finished in 10:35.79.

Men’s Field - Senior David Burke (Hudson, OH/Hudson) won the triple jump with a leap of 46 feet, 10.75 inches, was third in the pentathlon (2878 points), and took fourth in both the high and long jumps.

Coaches of the Year:
Ohio Wesleyan head coach Kris Boey was named NCAC Men’s Coach of the Year for the second time in two years. He has guided the Battling Bishop men and women, in both cross country and track, for eight seasons.

Oberlin head coach Ray Appenheimer was voted NCAC Women’s Coach of the Year for the second time in two seasons. He has guided the Yeowomen and Yeomen track & field squads for four seasons.