Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

NCAC 30th Anniversary Men's Basketball All-Decade Team Announced

NCAC 30th Anniversary Men's Basketball All-Decade Team

Two former College of Wooster standouts highlighted the list of players selected to the North Coast Athletic Conference's 30th Anniversary All-Decade men's basketball team. 2008 graduate James Cooper and 2011 graduate Ian Franks were the only two players in the last decade to be named the NCAC Player of the Year on two different occasions.

Cooper {left} earned NCAC Player of the Year honors in 2006 and 2008 and was also a first-team selection in 2007. He still ranks third on the NCAC's all-time scoring list and second on the Wooster scoring list after closing out his illustrious career with 2,037 points. Cooper is also third on the league's career lists for field goals made with 753 and tied for fourth on the career list for three-pointers made with 241. He was also a key contributor for numerous NCAC single-game and season team records that were set by the Scots throughout his career. In his four-year career at Wooster, the Fighting Scots won four-straight NCAC regular season titles (2005-08), captured the 2007 NCAC tournament title and advanced to the NCAA Division III Tournament semifinals in 2007. Cooper was also named the Al Van Wie award winner as the NCAC Tournament's Most Valuable Player in 2007. In addition to his numerous conference accolades, Cooper also collected All-American citations from (1st - 07/08; HM - 05/06) and the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) (2nd - 07/08).

Franks {right} earned back-to-back Player of the Year honors in 2010 and 2011 and was also a member of the first team in 2009. He is also among the top scorers in the history of the NCAC as he is 15th on the league's all-time scoring list and fourth on Wooster's scoring list with 1,696 career points. Franks, a two-time All-American selection (1st - 10/11; 4th - 09/10), contributed to four-straight NCAC regular season championships (2008-11), three-straight NCAC Tournament championships (2009-11) and helped the Scots advance to the NCAA Div. III championship game in 2011. He added to his list of national awards by being named an NABC first-team All-American selection in 2010 and a third-team honoree in 2011. He also earned the Al Van Wie award in 2011 after finishing the NCAC Tournament with 63 points, including a 25-point effort in the Scots' 82-68 win over Wittenberg in the championship game.

In addition, 2007 Wooster graduate Tom Port and 2013 Denison graduate Dimonde Hale also stood out on the list of former student-athletes as they were the only four-time All-NCAC performers in the last 10 years to be named to the all-decade team. Port, the 2004 Newcomer of the Year and 2007 Player of the Year, was a second-team selection in 2004 and a first-team honoree from 2005-07. Hale, the 2010 Newcomer of the Year, garnered honorable mention accolades in 2010, second-team laurels in 2011 and back-to-back first-team citations in 2012 and 2013.

The North Coast Athletic Conference is celebrating its 30th playing season by selecting All-Decade teams in nearly every championship sport. Players from the first 10 years of play were selected in 1993-94, while players who competed from 1993-2002 were named to the 20th Anniversary All-Decade team. All current head coaches were asked to vote, as were some former coaches and administrators.

Wooster and Wittenberg were the only two teams in the last decade to win NCAC championships, with the Scots earning eight titles (2005-11, '13) and Wittenberg two (2004, '12). Wooster competed in the NCAA Div. III Tournament in each of the last 10 years, highlighted by "Final Four" runs in 2007 and 2011. Wittenberg played in the national tournament five times in the last decade, including a heartbreaking 59-56 setback against Virginia Wesleyan in the 2006 national championship game.