Wooster Tabbed As Favorite For Men's Hoops

Wooster Tabbed As Favorite For Men's Hoops

2014-15 NCAC Preseason Basketball Coaches' Polls

The Wooster men's basketball team was tabbed to repeat as league champions in the 2014-15 North Coast Athletic Conference preseason basketball poll, based on balloting from league coaches.

Wooster, which earned its 16th NCAC men's title last winter, earned nine of the possible 10 first-place votes to total 99 points. DePauw received the final first-place vote and finished second in the poll with 85 points, while Wittenberg rounded out the top three with 79 points. Ohio Wesleyan checked in at fourth with 74 points and was followed by Wabash (58), Denison (53), Kenyon (39), Oberlin (24), Hiram (20) and Allegheny (19).

The Fighting Scots, who competed in the NCAA Tournament for the 12th consecutive year in 2014, return eight letterwinners and two starters from the 2013-14 squad that finished the season with an overall record of 26-4. The Scots will be led in the back court by three-time All-NCAC pick senior Xavier Brown (Bowling Green, OH/Bowling Green). Brown {left} accumulated 441 points (14.7 ppg), 104 rebounds (3.5 rpg) and 64 assists (2.2 apg) in 30 games and served as the team's top perimeter defender. Joining Brown as the other returning starter is sophomore forward Dan Fanelly (Uniontown, OH/Green) who averaged 9.1 points and 4.9 rebounds during a solid freshman campaign. Head coach Steve Moore, who has compiled an overall record of 645-144 in 27 years at Wooster, will roam the sidelines this winter for the Scots as the winningest coach all-time in NCAA Division III, based on winning percentage, with an overall career record of 732-209 (.778) in 33 years.

The 2014-15 season begins on Saturday, November 15. The NCAC Tournament will be held at the end of February with the men’s and women’s semifinals and championships at the site of the respective high seeds on February 27th and 28th.

2014-15 North Coast Athletic Conference Preseason Men's Basketball Coaches' Polls
(first-place votes in parentheses, followed by total points)

1. Wooster (9)
2. DePauw (1)
3. Wittenberg
4. Ohio Wesleyan
5. Wabash
6. Denison
7. Kenyon
8. Oberlin
9. Hiram
10. Allegheny 19