Three Named To NABC All-District Team

Axelrod (OWU), Lattner (DPU) & Speelman (DEN) {L-to-R}
Axelrod (OWU), Lattner (DPU) & Speelman (DEN) {L-to-R}

2016-17 NABC All-District Men's Basketball Teams

Ohio Wesleyan junior guard Nate Axerlrod (Dublin, OH/Coffman) was a first-team selection to highlight the list of NCAC men's basketball players named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) 2016-17 All-Great Lakes District team, it was announced on March 15th.

In addition, Denison senior post Jett Speelman (Granville, OH/Newark Catholic) and DePauw senior guard Luke Lattner (Hinsdale, IL/Fenwick) also earned All-Distric honors in the Great Lakes Region as a second-team selections.

Axelrod is making his second-straight appearance on the All-Great Lakes District first team, while Speelman was also named to the second team a year ago.

Located in Kansas City, Missouri, the NABC was founded in 1927 by Forrest "Phog" Allen, the legendary basketball coach at the University of Kansas.  Allen, a student of James Naismith, the inventor of basketball, organized coaches into this collective group to serve as Guardians of the Game.  The NABC currently has nearly 5,000 members consisting primarily of university and college men's basketball coaches.  All members of the NABC are expected to uphold the core values of being a Guardian of the Game by bringing attention to the positive aspects of the sport of basketball and the role coaches play in the academic and athletic lives of today's student-athletes.  The four core values of being a Guardian of the Game are advocacy, leadership, service and education.  Additional information about the NABC, its programs and membership, can be found at

Read More: Denison - DePauw - Ohio Wesleyan