Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2013 All-NCAC Men's Lacrosse Team Announced

2013 All-NCAC Men's Lacrosse Team 

Denison junior Austin Campbell (Berwyn, PA/Conestoga) and Ohio Wesleyan senior Colin Short (Jamesville, NY/Jamesville-DeWitt) have been named the Defensive and Offensive Players of the Year, respectively, to highlight the 2013 All-North Coast Athletic Conference men's lacrosse selections after balloting by league coaches.

Short {left}, who is an All-NCAC first-team selection for the third year in a row, leads the NCAC with 56 points after dishing out a league-leading 35 assists and netting 21 goals. He helped the Battling Bishops to a second-place finish in the regular season; however, OWU did win the inaugural NCAC Men's Lacrosse Tournament to earn the league's automatic bid into the 2013 NCAA Division III Men's Lacrosse Tournament.

Campbell {right} makes his second-straight All-NCAC first-team appearance after closing out the 2013 campaign with 59 ground balls and a league-leading 30 caused turnovers. Campbell also totaled six points on the year with four goals and two assists.

Kenyon freshman goalie Patrick Shevelson (Pleasanton, CA/Foothill) {left} was named the North Coast's Newcomer of the Year by vote of the league coaches. Shevelson, who also garnered honorable-mention accolades in his rookie season, recorded 125 saves and allowed 60 goals for a .676 save percentage.

Ohio Wesleyan head coach Mike Plantholt {right} earned Coach of the Year honors for the first time in his career by vote of the league coaches after guiding the Battling Bishops to the inaugural NCAC Men's Lacrosse Tournament title with a thrilling 10-9 victory over arch-rival Denison in the championship game. Plantholt will lead the Bishops into the national tournament with an overall record of 13-5. Plantholt owns an overall record of 34-14 in three years at the helm of the OWU men's lacrosse program.