Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Denison Wins Third Men's Lacrosse Tournament Title

Denison Wins Third Men's Lacrosse Tournament Title

NCAC Weekly Men's Lacrosse Release - 5/1/17

Top-seeded Denison (15-1) captured its second-straight and third overall NCAC Men’s Lacrosse Tournament Championship after defeating seconded-seeded Ohio Wesleyan (11-6), 16-8, Sunday afternoon in Granville, Ohio. The win gives Denison the NCAC's automatic qualifier to the NCAA Division III tournament.

The Bishops opened strong taking a 3-1 lead after Max Tennant (Englewood, CO/Cherry Creek) scored his second of the game with 12:24 left in the second quarter. However, the Big responded by scoring 11 of the game’s next 12 goals including six-straight in the third quarter, led by Will Donohue (Charlotte, NC/Charlotte Latin School) registering four markers in that stretch to give DU an eight goal lead heading into the fourth. OWU opened the scoring in the final quarter but Denison again responded with four-straight goals before the Bishops closed the game with three goals in the final 2:36 as the Big Red went on to earn the eight-goal victory.

Donohue, who earned All-Tournament team honors, finished with a game-high six points on five goals and one assist. Henry DeCamp (Washington, D.C./Deerfield Academy) was named MVP of the Tournament after collecting 17 ground balls, scoring a goal and winning a remarkable 34-of-43 faceoff attempts in the two tournament games combined. In addition, Denison freshman goalie Stephen Paras (Barrington, RI/Barrington) finished the game with 10 saves.

Tennant and Conor Caffrey (Scituate, MA/Brewster (N.H.) Academy) led OWU in the championship game with four points apiece, while rookie goalie Andrew Halmi (Freehold, NJ/Colts Neck) closed out the contest with 14 saves in the cage for the Bishops.


2017 NCAC Men's Lacrosse All-Tournament Team

Aaron Blossey, Wittenberg
Brent Whitehead, Wittenberg
Josh Herold, Wooster
Ryan Harms, Wooster
Andrew Halmi, Ohio Wesleyan
Luke Leyden, Ohio Wesleyan
Jordan Carlson, Ohio Wesleyan
Conor Caffrey, Ohio Wesleyan
Will Donohue, Denison
Liam Rooney, Denison
Ben Duhoski, Denison
Teddy Sawyer, Denison 

MVP - Henry DeCamp, Denison


Semifinals: Wednesday, April 27 Championship: Sunday, April 30
#1 Denison 21, #4 Wooster 3 {Box}
Denison 16, Ohio Wesleyan 8 {Box}
#2 Ohio Wesleyan 7, #3 Wittenberg 6 {Box}

Tickets -- Directions -- Tournament Stats -- History