Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Denison Wins Fifth NCAC Tournament Title

Denison Wins Fifth NCAC Tournament Title

GRANVILLE, Ohio – The Denison Men’s Lacrosse team captured the North Coast Athletic Confernece (NCAC) tournament title on Sunday, May 5, with a 17-11 victory over Ohio Wesleyan. The championship is the fifth for the Big Red, winning five of the seven since the tournament began in 2013.

Ohio Wesleyan began the title match with three goals before the Big Red could respond. Denison clawed back to tie the contest at four on a Spencer Butler (Essex Falls, NJ/Millbrook School) goal with 12:26 remaining in the second quarter. Denison outscored Ohio Wesleyan 6-1 in the second period, taking an 8-5 lead to halftime. On the other side of the break, Ohio Wesleyan came out on the attack scoring three consecutive goals, two of which were from senior Max Tennant (Englewood, CO/Cherry Creek), tying the score at eight. Denison answered back, going on a 5-0 run to go up 14-9, en route to a 17-11 victory.

Denison senior Reeves McKenney (Roanoake, VA/Culver Academy) was named the tournament MVP, joining four of his teammates on the all-tournament team in freshman Michael Bomes (Wellesley, MA/Wellesley), senior Henry DeCamp (Washington, DC/Deerfield Academy), senior Brooks Davy (Wilmington, NC/Episcopal) and senior Jake Waxter (Baltimore, MD/Gilman). Ohio Wesleyan had three on the all-tournament team, junior Steven Hildebrand (Berwyn, PA/Conestoga), sophomore Joey Sichenzia (Sayville, NY/Sayville) and senior Max Tennant (Englewood, CO/Cherry Creek).

 2019 NCAC Men’s Lacrosse All-Tournament Team

Joe Altieri, Wooster
Ted Wells, Wooster
Sam Humphrey, Kenyon
Nick Vitale, Kenyon
Steven Hildebrand, Ohio Wesleyan
Joey Sichenzia, Ohio Wesleyan
Max Tennant, Ohio Wesleyan
Michael Bomes, Denison
Henry DeCamp, Denison
Brooks Davy, Denison
Jake Waxter, Denison
Reeves McKenney, Denison (MVP)


Semifinals: Thursday, May 2 Championship: Sunday, May 5
#1 Denison 17, #4 Wooster 8 - Boxscore #1 Denison 17, #2 Ohio Wesleyan 11 - Box Score
#2 Ohio Wesleyan 25, #3 Kenyon 10 - Boxscore  
Tickets -- Directions -- Tournament Stats -- Merchandise -- History


Semifinal Recaps:

The seeds held in the semifinal round of the 2019 NCAC Men's Lacrosse Tournament, setting up the seventh-consecutive meeting in the championship game between top-seeded Denison (15-2) and second-seeded Ohio Wesleyan (11-7). This year's tournament title game will be played on Sunday, May 5, at 12:00 p.m. at Denison's at Piper Stadium. Denison holds a 4-2 edge over Ohio Wesleyan in NCAC Tournament title games, with the Big Red capturing the title in each of the last three seasons. 

Top-seeded Denison would claim a 17-8 victory over fourth-seeded Wooster in the first semifnal game of the day. The Big Red opened the game with a goal at 12:14 before Wooster tallied four-consecutive goals to go up 4-1 with two minutes remaining in the first stanza. The Big Red then netted two goals before the end of the first quarter to bring the game within one. The second quarter would see two more goals from the Fighting Scots while Denison would net three, ending the half at six-all. The Big Red would use an 11-2 scoring advantage in the final 30 minutes to pull away with the nine-goal victory. Denison senior Brooks Davy (Wilmington, NC/Episcopal) recorded a game-high seven goals to go along with two assists and six ground balls, while senior faceoff specialist Henry DeCamp (Washington, DC/Deerfield Academy), tallied a game-high 24 faceoff wins and a game-high 20 ground balls. Sophomore Reeves McKenney (Roanoke, VA/Culver Academy) tallied 14 saves in the win for the Big Red. Wooster was led by junior Cullen Kuhn (Towson, MD/Loyola Blakefield) and sophomore Ted Wells (Manlius, NY/Fayetteville-Manlius) who netted two goals apiece. Junior Wesley Wagner (Collegeville, PA/Cardinal Gibbons (NC) notched 11 saves in the loss.

In the second semifinal game, Ohio Wesleyan captured a 25-10 win over third-seeded Kenyon. The Battling Bishops netted nine goals in the first quarter to take a 9-1 lead. After another goal by OWU to start the second frame, Kenyon was able to net two goals before OWU went on a 10-0 run to end the half up 20-3. The Lords would hold the Bishops to five goals in the second half, but were only able to net seven goals in the final 30 minutes taking the loss. Ohio Wesleyan senior Max Tennant (Englewood, CO/Cherry Creek) netted a game-high seven goals, while seniors Steven Hildebrand (Berwyn, PA/Conestoga) and Cole Jamieson (Okemos, MI/Okemos) tallied five goals apiece. Freshman Russell Perciballi (Glen Cove, NY/St. Dominic) gathered a game-high 11 ground balls to go along with a goal and an assist, while junior Joey Sichenzia (Sayville, NY/Sayville), sophomore Zach Brasser (Westport, CT/Millbrook (NY) School) and freshman Gabe Tonucci (Cincinnati, OHMilford) split time in between the pipes for OWU. Kenyon was led by junior Sam Humphrey (Westlake, OH/Saint Ignatius) who tallied three goals, senior Nick Vitale (Saint Joseph, MI/St. Joseph's (IN)) who dished two assists and sophomore Reed Russell (Cincinnati, OH/The Seven Hills School) who scooped up six ground balls. Sophomore David Metzger (Mendham, NJ/Vassar C./Pingry School) and freshman Mayo Amorello (Wenham, MA/Hamilton-Wenham) played two quarters each in net for the Lords.



After winning its 17th NCAC Men's Lacrosse Championship, Denison has earned the top seed in the 2019 NCAC Men's Lacrosse Tournament, which begins with semifinal matchups on Thursday, May 2.

On Thursday, the Big Red (8-0) will entertain fourth-seeded Wooster (5-3), while second-seeded Ohio Wesleyan (7-1) welcomes third-seeded Kenyon (6-2) in the other semifinal matchup. In the first meeting between Denison and the Fighting Scots this year, the Big Red earned a 23-9 win over Wooster. To start conference play for both teams this season, the Battling Bishops claimed a 17-7 over the Lords.

The championship game will be held on Sunday, May 5, at the site of the highest remaining seed to emerge from the semifinal round. The tournament winner receives the league's automatic bid into the NCAA Division III Tournament.

Since the inception of the NCAC Men's Lacrosse Tournament in the 2013 season, Denison has claimed four tournament titles (2014, '16-'18), while Ohio Wesleyan has earned the other two tournament titles (2013, '15).