Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

NCAC Men's Lacrosse All-Decade Teams

NCAC 30th Anniversary Men's Lacrosse All-Decade Team

Two former Ohio Wesleyan University  standouts highlighted the list of players selected to the North Coast Athletic Conference's 30th Anniversary All-Decade men's lacrosse team. 2005 graduate John Schlegel and 2008 graduate Chris Eccles were the only two players in the last decade to be named the NCAC Player of the Year on two separate occasions.

John Schlegel {left} earned back-to-back NCAC Player of the Year honors in 2004 and 2005 and guided the Battling Bishops to a pair of NCAC titles in the previous decade. OWU shared the title in 2004 with Denison and Wooster, before capturing the outright title in 2005. In 26 combined games from 2004-05, Schlegel netted 83 goals and dished out 42 assists for 125 total points from the attack position. In addition to his conference accolades, Schlegel also earned All-American citations in 2004 (HM) and 2005 (2nd Team) from the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA).

Chris Eccles {right}, a four-time All-NCAC selection, was named the NCAC Newcomer of the Year in 2005, followed by back-to-back Player of the Year honors in 2006 and 2007. After earning All-NCAC honorable mention accolades in 2005, Eccles was a mainstay on the first team from 2006-08. Eccles is among the top midfielders in OWU's illustrious history as he ranks second all-time at the position with 183 points after netting 99 career goals and passing out 84 assists. During his tenure at OWU, the Battling Bishops won two NCAC titles (2005, 07) and competed in four-straight NCAA Division III Tournaments. Eccles was also a three-time USILA All-American selection, earning third-team laurels in 2007 and honorable mention accolades in 2006 and 2008.

There were seven additional student-athletes named to the NCAC men's lacrosse 30th Anniversary all-decade squad that earned three first-team all-conference nods in the last 10 years, including Denison attack Brady Burton (2007-08, 10), Ohio Wesleyan attack Colin Short (2011-13), Ohio Wesleyan defender Tony D'Abarno (2009-11), Denison midfielder Dan Maude (2007-09), Denison midfielder Taylor Nissi (2006-08), Kenyon midfielder Charlie Sayer (2009-11) and Denison midfielder Tanner Smith (2009-11). Maude and Short were also named NCAC Players of the Year in 2009 and 2013, respectively.

The North Coast Athletic Conference is celebrating its 30th playing season by selecting All-Decade teams in nearly every championship sport. Players from the first 10 years of play were selected in 1993-94, while players who competed from 1993-2002 were named to the 20th Anniversary All-Decade team. All current head coaches were asked to vote, as were some former coaches and administrators.

Four different NCAC squads earned at least a share of an NCAC Men's Lacrosse championship in the past 10 years. The decade opened with a three-way tie between Denison, Ohio Wesleyan and Wooster in 2005, followed with outright titles from Ohio Wesleyan in 2005, Denison in 2006, Ohio Wesleyan in 2007 and Denison in both 2008 and 2009. Ohio Wesleyan and Wittenberg shared the 2010 crown, while there was another three-way tie in 2011 between Denison, Ohio Wesleyan and Wittenberg. The Big Red are currently the two-time defending league champions with titles in 2012 and 2013.

Founded in 1983, the North Coast Athletic Conference currently consists of 10 academically selective NCAA Division III colleges and universities - Allegheny College, Denison University, DePauw University, Hiram College, Kenyon College, Oberlin College, Ohio Wesleyan University, Wabash College, Wittenberg University and the College of Wooster along with affiliate member Earlham College (field hockey). The NCAC sponsors 23 championship sports, 11 for men and 12 for women.


NCAC All-Decade Men's Lacrosse Teams