Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2016 All-NCAC Men's Lacrosse Team Announced

2016 All-NCAC Men's Lacrosse Team Announced

2016 All-NCAC Men's Lacrosse Team

Kenyon senior goalie Patrick Shevelson (Pleasonton, CA/Foothill) and Denison senior midfielder James Meager (Worthington, OH/Kilbourne) have been named the Defensive and Offensive Players of the Year, respectively, to highlight the 2016 All-North Coast Athletic Conference men's lacrosse selections after balloting by the league coaches.  

Shevelson, who also elevated to the top team this year after earning second-team laurels last spring and honorable-mention accolades in both 2013 and '14, provided stability in net for the Lords' defensive unit that allowed just 135 goals in 15 games this season. In 806.05 minutes between the pipes this year, Shevelson made 185 saves and allowed 126 goals for a 9.38 goals-against-average and a league-best .595 save percentage.  

Meager is making his second-career appearance on the top team after collecting first-team honors in 2014 and second-team accolades a year ago. Through 17 games this season, Meager has been a consistent scoring threat for the Big Red with 40 goals and seven assists for 47 total points. He has tallied six hat tricks on the year, which included back-to-back efforts in the NCAC Tournament as he scored five goals in the semifinals against Wooster and found the back of the net three times in the title game against OWU. His title game scores included the game-tying goal with just 53 seconds left in regulation and the game-winner just minutes into the extra session. Meager, who was also named the MVP of the NCAC Tournament, will now lead the Big Red into the NCAA Division III Men's Lacrosse Tournament for the 21st time in program history.  

Five players were repeat selections on the first time this spring, led by Denison senior midfielder Blair Farinholt (Richmond, VA/St. Christopher's School) and Ohio Wesleyan senior long stick midfielder John Griffin (Oceanside, NY/Northfield Mt. Hermon, MA) who both made their second-straight appearance on the first team after earning second-team certificates in both 2013 and '14. In addition, Ohio Wesleyan senior attack Marcus Dietz (Westerville, OH/St. Francis DeSales), Denison junior attack Liam Rooney (Redding, CT/Joel Barlow) and Denison senior defender Teddy Sawyer (Lutherville, MD/McDonogh School) each made their second-straight appearance on the first team.  

Wittenberg senior attack Thomas Fuss (New Albany, OH/Gahanna Lincoln) elevated to the top team after earning second-team laurels in 2014 and honorable-mention accolades in 2013 and '15. Three players jumped to the top team this year from the 2015 honorable mention team, including Ohio Wesleyan sophomore midfielder Luke Leyden (Northfield, MA/Mt. Hermon), Denison sophomore defender Ben Duhoski (Millbrook, NY/The Millbrook School) and Oberlin junior face-off specialist Kinori Rosnow (Kirkland, WA/Overlake).   

Finally, Ohio Wesleyan junior defender Jordan Carlson (Delaware, OH/Hayes) and Denison sophomore short stick defensive midfielder Josh Happ (Columbus, OH/Worthington Kilbourne) both make their All-NCAC debut on the top squad this spring.  

After being named to the second team in his rookie campaign, Ohio Wesleyan freshman attack Max Tennant (Englewood, CO/Cherry Creek) was tabbed as the Newcomer of the Year by vote of the league coaches. In 17 games this season, Tennant led the NCAC with 67 points after scoring a league-leading 58 goals and handing out nine assists. He was also named to the NCAC All-Tournament Team after scoring six goals in the two tourney games combined.  

Kenyon head coach Doug Misarti earned the NCAC Coach of the Year award by vote of the league coaches for the second time in his career after leading the Lords to a third-place finish in the NCAC standings with a 6-2 record against league foes. In addition, the Lords' overall record of 11-4 was the most wins by a KC squad since the 2007 team finished with a 12-2 mark. In nine years at the helm, Misarti owns an overall record of 76-58, which includes a mark of 31-24 in conference games.

Player of the Year
Player of the Year
Newcomer of the Year Coach of the Year
Patrick Shevelson James Meager Max Tennant Doug Misarti