Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2017 All-NCAC Men's Lacrosse Team Announced

Denison's Liam Rooney (L), Ben Duhoski (C) & Henry DeCamp (R)
Denison's Liam Rooney (L), Ben Duhoski (C) & Henry DeCamp (R)

2017 All-NCAC Men's Lacrosse Team

The Denison trio of senior Liam Rooney (Redding, CT/Joel Barlow), junior Ben Duhoski (St. Thomas, USVI/The Millbrook School) and sophomore Henry DeCamp (Washington, D.C./Deerfield Academy) were named the Players of the Year to highlight the 2017 All-North Coast Athletic Conference men's lacrosse team after balloting by the league coaches.  

Rooney, who earned NCAC Offensive Player of the Year laurels, was also named to the All-NCAC first team for the third year in a row after putting together one of the top offensive efforts in the NCAC in recent history. Through 16 games this season, Rooney has already accumulated 98 total points on 31 goals and 67 assists. His assist total for the season topped the NCAC's previous single season record of 61 set by OWU's Blair Morrison in the 1985 season. He has scored three or more goals four different times this year, which includes a pair of five-goal performances in wins over Nazareth and Kenyon. His top assist effort came in the Big Red's 25-1 win over Wabash in the regular season finale when he handed out 10 total assists, which broke the NCAC's single-game mark of nine held by several different players and tied the program record set by Paul Doty against Michigan State in 1967. Rooney will also go down as the program's career leader in assists as he enters the 2017 NCAA Division III Men's Lacrosse Tournament with 136 total assists. 

Duhoski, who is a repeat selection on the first team after also earning honorable-mention laurels in 2015, was tabbed the Defensive Player of the Year after anchoring the DU unit that has given up just 6.28 goals per game and averages 10.25 caused turnover per contest. He has currently amassed 41 ground balls and 27 caused turnover through the Big Red's first 16 games, while also providing some production on the offensive side of the field with three goals and one assist. He posted a season-high seven ground balls in a 15-11 loss against Washington & Lee to kick of the campaign and caused four turnovers in a game twice this season against Dickinson on March 17 and against Oberlin on April 8th. 

DeCamp was named the league's Specialist Player of the Year after dominating opponents at the faceoff X throughout the season, winning 194-of-306 total attempts for a .634 average. DeCamp, who also makes his All-NCAC debut on the first team, has also added 99 ground balls and two goals to his resume this season. He best two-game stretch of the season came in the 2017 NCAC Men's Lacrosse Tournament when he combined to win 34-of-43 faceoff attempts in wins over Wooster and Ohio Wesleyan, leading him to be named the MVP of the tournament. 

DU senior Teddy Sawyer (Lutherville, MD/McDonogh School) joins Rooney as a three-time selection on the first team, while the Ohio Wesleyan duo of junior midfielder Luke Leyden (Northfield, MA/Mt. Hermon) and senior defender Jordan Carlson (Delaware, OH/Hayes) both landed on the top team for the second year in a row. Leyden also earned an honorable mention certificate in 2015. 

Wooster senior midfielder Matt Parmelee (South Glastonbury, CT/Glastonbury) elevated to the first team from the 2016 second team, while Denison senior Will Donohue (Charlotte, NC/Latin School) made the jump to the top team after collecting second-team laurels in 2015. 

The five remaining players on the first team are all making their All-NCAC debut, including Ohio Wesleyan sophomore attack Connor Caffrey (Scituate, MA/Brewster Academy, NH), Denison sophomore midfielder Jake Waxter (Baltimore, MD/Gilman), Wittenberg senior long stick midfielder David Strahm (Upper Arlington, OH/Upper Arlington), Ohio Wesleyan junior short stick defensive midfielder Trent Schulte (Coronado, CA/Coronado) and Wittenberg senior goalie Aaron Blossey (Rocky River, OH/Rocky River)

Denison sophomore attack Spencer Butler (Essex Falls, NJ/Millbrook School) was named the 2017 NCAC Newcomer of the Year after tallying 46 goals and 16 assists for 62 total points thus far in his first collegiate season. Butler, who was also an All-NCAC second-team selection, has scored three or more goals in 11 different games this season, highlighted by a pair of five-goal performances against DePauw on March 25th and against Wooster in the NCAC Tournament semifinals on April 26th. 

Finally, Wittenberg head coach Jay Owen was named the 2017 NCAC Men's Lacrosse Coach of the Year for the first time in his career after leading the Tigers to a 6-2 record against league foes and a 9-7 mark overall. In four total seasons in Springfield, Owens owns an overall record of 36-25 (.590), which includes a 20-11 (.645) mark in regular season conference games.

Player of the Year
Player of the Year
Player of the Year
of the Year
of the Year

Liam Rooney Ben Duhoski Henry DeCamp Spencer Butler Jay Owen