Ohio Wesleyan & Kenyon Punch NCAA Tickets

OWU Sophomore Ryan Roberts & Kenyon Junior Keven Duan
OWU Sophomore Ryan Roberts & Kenyon Junior Keven Duan

Complete .PDF 

North Coast Athletic Conference tournament champion Ohio Wesleyan (12-6-2) extended its NCAA record by earning its 40th-straight berth into the 62-team NCAA Div. III Men’s Soccer Tournament. Kenyon (15-2-3) also earned a berth into the tournament field for the fifth-straight year and 14th time overall after clinching one of the 19 Pool C at-large bids. 2017 marks the 10th-straight year the North Coast will be represented by multiple teams in the national field. 

After 110 minutes of scoreless action and a 2-2 tie after the first five penalty kicks in the championship match of the 2017 NCAC Men’s Soccer Tournament between top-seeded Kenyon and second-seeded Ohio Wesleyan, the Bishops booked their ticket to the NCAA Division III Men’s Soccer Tournament on the sixth PK opportunity.

OWU junior midfielder Jack Shadoan (Dublin, OH/Scioto) stepped up to the penalty mark and drilled his shot past Kenyon freshman goalie Ian McInturf (Cincinnati, OH/Country Day), and sophomore goalie J.P. Baughman (Westerville, OH/St. Francis DeSales) swatted away the attempt of KC freshman defender Collyn Carpenter (Charlotte, NC/South Mecklenburg) to give the Bishops their league-leading 10th NCAC men’s soccer tournament title and their first since 2013.

Ohio Wesleyan will travel to University Hts, Ohio, for its NCAA opening round contest against host John Carroll (15-2-2), which received an at-large bid out of the Ohio Athletic Conference (OAC), on Friday. The winner of the OWU/JCU match will take on the winner of the Calvin (19-0-1)/Thomas More (14-4-2) match on Saturday at John Carroll.

Kenyon will travel to Westerville, Ohio, for its NCAA opening round contest against Transylvania (17-1-0), the automatic qualifier out of the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference, on Saturday at Otterbein. The winner of the Kenyon/Transy match will take on the winner of the Otterbein (17-2-0)/Medaille (14-5-1) match on Sunday in Ohio.

Ohio Wesleyan, which won the 1998 and 2011 national titles and has made 10 appearances in the national semifinals, is 62-34-8 all-time in NCAA postseason play. Forty-Two-year head coach Jay Martin took over the program in 1977 and has led the squad to an NCAA-record 41 NCAA postseason appearances.

Sophomores Ryan Roberts (Lima, OH/Shattuck-St.Mary’s (MN)) and Adam Yingling (Gettysburg, PA/Gettysburg Area) lead the Battling Bishops with 13 points apiece heading into the tournament. The duo has combined for nine goals and eight assists on the year. On the defensive side of the ball, sophomore goalies Baughman and Mike Heeschen (Gettysburg, PA/Gettysburg Area) have combined to make 72 saves and allowed 25 goals in 1866:51 minutes of split action in net for the Bishops. 

13th-year head coach Chris Brown leads Kenyon, which is making its 13th national tournament appearance. The Lords got strong performances this season from Henry Myers (Lebanon, OH/Archbishop Moeller), Woo Jeon (Madison, WI/West) and Brice Koval (Crested Butte, CO/Worcester Academy (MA)) as the trio combined for 23 of Kenyon’s 40 goals and dished out 14 total assists for 60 total points. On the defensive side of the ball, freshman McInturf corralled 36 saves and allowed just 10 goals in 1857:01 minutes of action with a 0.48 goals against average.

The winners of Saturday and Sunday’s second-round games will advance to a four-team sectional tournament to be held on Nov. 17-19 on the campus of one of the competing institutions. Sectional winners will advance to the national semifinals, which take place Dec. 1 at UNCG Soccer Stadium in Greensboro, North Carolina, with the University of North Carolina at Greensboro and Greensboro Sports Commission serving as hosts. The national championship game will be played Dec. 2. The Division III women’s soccer national semifinals and championship games will also be held at UNCG Soccer Stadium Dec. 1 and 2.

Complete NCAA Tournament information can be found online at: www.ncaa.com.