Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

DePauw Secures Fourth Softball Tournament Title

DePauw earned its fourth NCAC Softball Tournament Title following a 5-4 victory against Denison on Saturday
DePauw earned its fourth NCAC Softball Tournament Title following a 5-4 victory against Denison on Saturday

DePauw (23-20) captured its second-straight and fourth overall North Coast Athletic Conference softball tournament championship after defeating Denison (26-10), 5-4, in game 6 of the 2017 NCAC Softball Tournament on Sunday in Springfield, Ohio.

In game 6, Sidney Holler (Overland Park, KS/Shawnee Mission South) went 2-for-4 from the plate and delivered the game-winning RBI in to bottom of the seventh inning. Senior pitcher Emma Baldwin (Oak Park, IL/Oak Park River Forest) earned her 10th win of the season and second of the tournament after a complete game effort in which she struck out five. With the victory, the Tigers have earned the league's automatic bid into the 2018 NCAA Division III Softball Tournament.

DePauw opened the tournament with a 5-4 victory over the Big Red in 10-innings in the opening round on Friday, and advanced to the championship round after knocking off top-seeded Wittenberg (24-17), 2-0, in the winners' bracket later in the day. After losing its opener against DePauw, Denison advanced to the championship round by winning back-to-back elimination games against Allegheny (18-15), 2-0, and the Springfield Tigers, 5-4 in 13-innings.

Baldwin was named the Most Valuable Player of the NCAC Tournament, joining Tiger teammates Holler, Brooke Bandy (Elmhurst, ILYork) and Liz Getz (Bloomington, IN/Bloomington South) on the All-Tournament team. In two appearances in the circle, Baldwin posted a 2-0 record with a 2.28 ERA in 15.1 innings of work, striking out 12, allowing 15 hits and held batters to a .254 average  on the weekend. 

Four Denison players were named to the All-Tournament team as well, including Sarah Herold (Orland Park, IL/Carl Sandburg), Laura Bagan (Winnetka, IL/New Trier), Lindsey Clemson (Canton, OH/Jackson) and McKinley Vazquez (Upper Arlington, OH/Upper Arlington). Also, named to the All-Tournament team were Wittenberg's Chelsea Zang (Cincinnati, OH/Seton) and Victoria Toetz (Indianapolis, IN/Bishop Chatard), and Allegheny's Hayley Behr (Pittsburgh, PA/North Hills) and Jessica Zavolta (Level Green, PA/Penn-Tratford).

2018 NCAC Softball Tournament
Wittenberg University
Springfield, Ohio
May, 4-6
Wittenberg Tournament Website
Friday, May 4th Saturday, May 5th
Game 1: #3 DePauw 5, #2 Denison 4 - 10 Innings {Box} Game 4: Denison 14, Allegheny 10 {Box}
Game 2: #1 Wittenberg 11, #4 Allegheny 4 {Box} Game 5: Denison 5, Wittenberg 4 - 13 Innings {Box}
Game 3: DePauw 2, Wittenberg 0 {Box} Game 6: DePauw 5, Denison 4 {Box}
Day One Photo Gallery   
Tickets -- Directions -- History  -- Tournament Bracket -- Tournament Stats -- Tournament Apparel (code: ncacsb18)


Complete .PDF

The 2018 NCAC Softball Tournament is set for Friday and Saturday, May 4-5, at Wittenberg University in Springfield, Ohio. The Tigers earned the right to host the two-day event after winning the NCAC regular season championship for the second year in a row.

As the top seed, Wittenberg (15-1) meets fourth-seeded Allegheny (10-6) in the opening round of the double elimination tournament on Friday at 12:00 PM. Second-seeded Denison (13-3) opens the tournament on Friday morning at 10:00 AM with a showdown against third-seeded DePauw (13-3).

The double-elimination tournament continues on Friday afternoon with the winners of the days' first two games squaring off for a slot in the championship round at 2:00 PM, while the losers of the opening-round games will meet on Friday at 4:00 PM in an elimination game, with the winner moving on to face the loser of Friday's third game at 11:00 AM on Saturday morning to determine the final slot in the championship round. Saturday's championship round will be played at 1:00 PM and 3:00 PM (if necessary).

Since the inception of the NCAC Softball Tournament in the 2001 season, Denison has claimed six tournament titles (2001-02, '06, '08, '10, '12). Allegheny is second with four tourney titles (2004-05, '07, '13), DePauw has won three (2014, '15, '17), while Hiram (2009, '11) and Wittenberg (2003, '16) have two tournament titles each.