Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

NCAC 30th Anniversary Softball All-Decade Team Announced

NCAC 30th Anniversary Softball All-Decade Team

Four two-time NCAC Player of the Year award winners highlight the North Coast Athletic Conference's 30th Anniversary All-Decade Softball Team. In the pitching circle, Allegheny's Giannina Coccaro won the Pitcher of the Year award in 2004 and '06, and Ohio Wesleyan's Rachel Seibel earned the award in 2008 and '10, while Allegheny's Abby Bodenlos (2007-08) and Hiram's Whitney Dropsey (2009-10) both earned back-to-back Player of the Year awards in the last decade.

Giannina Coccaro {left} dominated in the pitching circle in the early portion of last decade as she earned three All-NCAC citations from 2004-06, collecting first team nods and NCAC Pitcher of the Year accolades in 2004 and '06 to go along with a second-team selection in 2005. In her three seasons of play last decade, Coccaro posted an overall pitching record of 39-25 and a miniscule 1.52 ERA after allowing just 96 earned runs in 441.2 innings of work. She also tallied 435 strikeouts, including back-to-back campaigns with 149 K's from 2004-05. Her name still appears in the NCAC record book today in six different career categories, including wins (47), games started (77), complete games (70), innings pitched (546.0), shutouts (16) and hit batters (48). She also played a vital role in leading the Gators to back-to-back NCAC Tournament championships in 2004 and '05.

Rachel Seibel {right} was a mainstay in the pitching circle for OWU from 2007-10 as she also earned three All-NCAC certificates in her career, collecting first-team recognition and NCAC Pitcher of the Year accolades in 2008 and '10 along with a second-team citation in 2009. Seibel appeared in 87 games in her career, posting a 41-27 record with 53 complete games and 15 shutout performances in 74 career starts. She surrendered 166 earned runs in 486.0 innings of work for a 2.39 ERA and set 444 batters down on strikes in her four-year career. With 41 wins from 2007-10, Seibel accounted for 52 percent of OWU's victories during that stretch as the team went a combined 79-69-2 from 2007-10.

Abby Bodenlos {left}, who was also a member of Allegheny's 2005 team that won the NCAC Tournament and competed in the NCAA Div. III Tournament, progressed into one of the league's premiere lead-off hitters in her junior and senior seasons. She was a four-time All-NCAC honoree, collecting first-team honors and back-to-back NCAC Player of the Year awards from 2007-08 to go along with a second-team citation in 2005 and honorable-mention certificate in 2006. In 152 career games with the Gators, Bodenlos owned a .366 batting average (174-of-476) and tallied 27 doubles, 15 home runs, 10 triples, 87 RBI and 116 runs. Bodenlos' biggest contribution for the Gators may have come on the base paths as she still owns the NCAC career record with 79 stolen bases in 85 career attempts.

Whitney Dropsey {right}, a three-time All-NCAC first-team selection and back-to-back NCAC Player of the Year award winner from 2009-10, proved to be a dual threat for the Hiram Terriers during her four-year career. At the plate, she owned a .360 batting average (185-of-514) with 23 doubles, four triples, 43 stolen bases, 61 RBI and 88 runs scored. In the pitching circle, Dropsey started 70 career games and compiled an overall record of 44-27 with 70 complete games and 12 shutout performances. She also compiled a career ERA of 2.50 and after allowing 154 earned runs and setting 316 batters down on strikes in 431.0 innings of work. Dropsey is one of three NCAC softball players to be named to the National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) All-American team in the last 10 years as she was an honorable-mention selection in 2010. The other two All-American selections were also named to the NCAC 30th Anniversary Softball All-Decade team as 2006 Ohio Wesleyan graduate Linsey Longstreth was a second-team selection in 2004 and 2006 Denison graduate Andrea Carella was also a second-team selection in 2006.

There were three additional student-athletes named to the NCAC 30th Anniversary Softball All-Decade squad that earned three first-team all-conference nods in the last 10 years, including 2009 Allegheny graduate Rachel Ryan (2006-08), 2013 Kenyon graduate Jamie Samuel (2010, 12-13) and 2007 Wittenberg graduate Stephanie Zorn (2005-07). Samuel was named the NCAC Newcomer of the Year in 2010 and also earned the Player of the Year award in 2013, while Zorn was named the Player of the Year in 2005.

There are also three current players named to the all-decade team, including Denison senior pitcher Becca Dyer, Wooster junior outfielder Demi Hart and Wittenberg senior  outfielder Laura Rose. Dyer was named the Pitcher of the Year in 2011, while Hart earned Newcomer of the year honors in 2012.

The North Coast Athletic Conference is celebrating its 30th playing season by selecting All-Decade teams in nearly every championship sport. Players from the first 10 years of play were selected in 1993-94, while players who competed from 1993-2002 were named to the 20th Anniversary All-Decade team. All current head coaches were asked to vote, as were some former coaches and administrators.

Four different NCAC teams earned a league title in softball in the last 10 years, including Allegheny (2004, '08, '12), Denison (2006-07, '09, 10-11), DePauw (2013) and Ohio Wesleyan (2005, '10). Denison and Ohio Wesleyan shared the conference crown in 2010.

Founded in 1983, the North Coast Athletic Conference currently consists of 10 academically selective NCAA Division III colleges and universities - Allegheny College, Denison University, DePauw University, Hiram College, Kenyon College, Oberlin College, Ohio Wesleyan University, Wabash College, Wittenberg University and the College of Wooster along with affiliate member Earlham College (field hockey). The NCAC sponsors 23 championship sports, 11 for men and 12 for women.