2015 All-NCAC Softball Squad Announced

2015 All-NCAC Softball Squad Announced

2015 All-NCAC Softball Team

DePauw senior pitcher Kahla Nolan (West Chicago, IL/Wheaton North) and junior infielder Linsey Button (Ballwin, MO/Lafayette) have been named the Player and Pitcher of the Year, respectively, to highlight the 2015 All-North Coast Athletic Conference softball team.

Nolan, who makes her second-straight appearance on the top team and earns her third All-NCAC selection overall after collecting second-team laurels in 2013, led all NCAC pitchers in league games this season with a 0.78 earned-run-average after allowing just six earned runs in 54.0 innings of work in the circle. Nolan, who logged four complete-game shutouts against NCAC squads, struck out 55 and limited opposing hitters to a .144 batting average (27-of-188) en route to posting a 7-1 record in league games this season.

Button landed on the top team for the third year in a row after leading all league hitters in numerous offensive categories, including batting average (.541), slugging percentage (1.027), on-base percentage (.575), RBI (22) and total bases (38). Button, who collected a hit in 11 of the 13 league games she played in this season, also finished the conference slate with five homeruns, three doubles and 13 runs scored. She was equally as impressive in the field for the Tigers, as she committed just three errors in 79 total chances for a .962 fielding percentage.

Denison senior Julie Rooney (Munroe Falls, OH/Stow-Munroe Falls) makes her second-straight appearance on the first team and earns her fourth All-NCAC citation of her career after collecting second team laurels in 2013 and '12.

Wittenberg sophomore Abby Baker (Canfield, OH/Canfield) and Kenyon junior Lindsey Susolik (Newport Beach, CA/Corona Del Mar) were both named to the top team for the second year in a row, while Wittenberg sophomore Casey Hobbs (Fairborn, OH/Carroll) elevated to the first team after collecting honorable-mention accolades last spring.

In addition, six players made their All-NCAC debut on the first team this spring, including DePauw junior Sammi Bell (Columbia, MO/Rock Bridge Sr.), DePauw freshman Liz Getz (Bloomington, IN/South), Denison sophomore Ryan Lee (Wilmette, IL/New Trier), Oberlin sophomore Tori Poplaski (Waterloo, NY/Waterloo), Denison freshman Lauren Secaras (Wilmette, IL/New Trier) and Wittenberg freshman Chelsea Zang (Cincinnati, OH/Seton).

Zang was also named the 2015 NCAC Newcomer of the Year by vote of the league coaches after hitting .370 (20-of-54) in league games with three homers, two doubles, seven runs scored and 14 RBI. She was also among the league leaders in numerous different pitching categories, ranking second in ERA (1.28), innings pitched (82.1) and games started (10). She also posted one of the more unique stat lines in recent memory in that she hit more homers (3) in league games than she allowed (2) in the pitching circle.

DePauw head coach Erica Hanrahan was named the Coach of the Year by vote of the league coaches for the second time in her career after she guided the Tigers to their third-straight NCAC title and their second-consecutive NCAC Tournament championship. Hanrahan, who is 79-50 in three years at the helm of the DPU softball program, will now guide the Tigers into the NCAA Division III Softball Tournament for the seventh time in the last nine season. DePauw has been selected as a regional host and will open the double-elimination tournament on Friday, May 8, against Washington (MO).

Pitcher of the Year
Player of the Year Newcomer of the Year Coach of the Year
Kahla Nolan

Linsey Button

Chelsea Zang
Erica Hanrahan