Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2016 NCAC Softball Tournament


2016 NCAC Softball Tournament Champions



2016 NCAC Softball Tournament
DePauw University
Greencastle, Indiana
May, 6-7
Friday, May 6th Saturday, May 7th

Game 1: #2 Wittenberg 6, #3 Denison 5 - 9 Innings (Box)

Game 5: DePauw 5, Ohio Wesleyan 2 (Box)

Game 2: #4 Ohio Wesleyan 5, #1 DePauw 4 - 12 Innings (Box)

Game 6: DePauw 5, Wittenberg 2 (Box)

Game 3: Wittenberg 7,  Ohio Wesleyan 3 (Box)

Game 7: Wittenberg 12, DePauw (Box)
Game 4: DePauw 4, Denison 1 (Box)
Tickets -- Directions -- History  -- Tournament Stats -- Photos

All-Tournament Team

Ryan Lee, Denison
Amanda Boyle, Ohio Wesleyan
Sarah Flint, Ohio Wesleyan
Liz Getz, DePauw
Haleigh Chasteen, DePauw
Emma Baldwin, DePauw
Sidney Holler, DePauw
Loren Combs, Wittenberg
Kaela Hughes, Wittenberg
Chelsea Zang, Wittenberg
Katy Baumgartner, Wittenberg

MVP -- Casey Hobbs, Wittenberg

Wittenberg (32-7-1) captured its second North Coast Athletic Conference softball tournament championship after defeating DePauw (29-16), 12-3, in game 7 of the 2016 NCAC Softball Tournament on Saturday in Greencastle, Indiana. Game 7 was needed after DePauw earned a 5-2 victory over Wittenberg in the first championship game. In game 7, Katy Baumgartner (Fishers, IN/Cathedral) went 2-for-4 from the plate with a triple, two runs scored and two RBI. Sophomore pitcher Chelsea Zang (Cincinnati, OH/Seton) earned her 18th win of the season and second of the tournament after pitching 4.1 innings, allowing just three hits, zero earned runs and striking out two DU Tigers. With the victory, the Tigers have earned the league's automatic bid into the 2016 NCAA Division III Softball Tournament.

The Springfield Tigers opened the tournament with a 6-5 victory over Denison (22-16) in the opening round on Friday, and advanced to the championship round after knocking off fourth-seeded Ohio Wesleyan (16-21), 7-3, in the winners’ bracket later in the day. After losing its opener against OWU, the DU Tigers advanced to the championship round by winning back-to-back elimination games against Denison, 4-1, and Ohio Wesleyan, 5-2.

Casey Hobbs (Fairborn, OH/Carroll)
of Wittenberg was named the Most Valuable Player of the NCAC Tournament, joining Tiger teammates Zang, Baumgartner, Kaela Hughes (Upper Arlington, OH/Watterson) and Loren Combs (Cincinnati, OH/Turpin) on the All-Tournament team. In four games, Hobbs batted .533 (8-for-15) with seven RBI, 12 total bases, two runs scored, two stolen bases, one home run, one double and slugged an even .800 on the weekend.

Four DePauw players were named to the All-Tournament team as well, including
Liz Getz (Bloomington, IN/Bloomington South), Haleigh Chasteen (Avon, IN/Avon), Sidney Holler (Overland Park, KS/Shawnee Mission South) and Emma Baldwin (Oak Park, IL/Oak Park River Forest). Also, named to the All-Tournament team were Ohio Wesleyan’s Sarah Flint (Westerville, OH/St. Francis DeSales) and Amanda Boyle (Niagara Falls, NY/Niagara Falls), and Denison’s Ryan Lee (Wilmette, IL/New Trier).


The 2016 NCAC Softball Tournament is set for Friday and Saturday, May 6-7, at DePauw University. The Tigers earned the right to host the two-day event after winning the NCAC championship for the fourth year in a row.

As the top seed, DePauw (14-0, 24-13) meets fourth-seeded Ohio Wesleyan (9-7, 15-19) in the opening round of the double elimination tournament on Friday at 12:00 PM. Second-seeded Wittenberg (13-3, 29-6) opens the tournament on Friday morning at 10:00 AM with a showdown against third-seeded Denison (11-5, 22-14).

The double-elimination tournament continues on Friday afternoon with the winners of the days’ first two games squaring off for a slot in the championship round at 2:00 PM, while the losers of the opening-round games will meet on Friday at 4:00 PM in an elimination game, with the winner moving on to face the loser of Friday’s third game at 11:00 AM on Saturday morning to determine the final slot in the championship round. Saturday’s championship round will be played at 1:00 PM and 3:00 PM (if necessary).

Since the inception of the NCAC Softball Tournament in the 2001 season, Denison has claimed six tournament titles (2001-02, ‘06, ‘08, ‘10, ‘12). Allegheny is second with four tourney titles (2004-05, ‘07, ‘13), Hiram and DePauw have each won two titles: Hiram (2009, ‘11) and DePauw (2014, '15), while Wittenberg won its lone tourney title in 2003.