Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Denison Men Win 9th-Straight NCAC Title

Denison Men Win 9th-Straight NCAC Title

2017 All-NCAC Men's Performers

Denison successfully swept the team titles at the 2017 NCAC Swimming & Diving Championships for the eighth time in the last nine years on Saturday night at the Trumbull Aquatics Center on the campus of Denison University. It marked the ninth-straight title for the Big Red men and the ninth all-time for the women's squad. (PHOTOS -- VIDEO)  

The DU men won 17 total events and tallied 1,953 total points to top Kenyon in the final standings for the ninth year in a row and the 10th time overall. In addition, the Big Red set one conference record in the 800 free relay (6:34.29) and posted 14 additional All-NCAC performances. The Kenyon Lords, who accumulated 1,750 points, won three total events and finished the meet with an additional 17 All-Conference efforts, while DePauw was third overall for the sixth year in a row with 1,141.5 total points after winning one event and tallying six more All-NCAC swims. Wooster was fourth in the team standings with 998 points, followed by Wabash (996), Allegheny (711.5), Ohio Wesleyan (652), Oberlin (477), Wittenberg (463) and Hiram (210). 

Denison senior Jack Lindell (Edina, MN/Edina) is now the fourth swimmer in league history to take home back-to-back NCAC Men's Swimmer of the Year awards and the first Big Red student-athlete to achieve the feat since Aaron Cole in 1999 and 2000. After becoming the first male swimmer in league history to sweep the individual medley events in 2016, Lindell once again notched victories this year in the 200 IM (1:49.83) and 400 IM (3:56.35) with NCAA "B" cut times. In addition, he finished second overall in the 200 back with an NCAA "B" cut time of 1:48.68.  

Denison senior Max Levy (Sammamish, WA/Skyline) also took home the NCAC Men's Diver of the Year honor for the second year in a row after winning both the one- and three-meter events with NCAA regional-qualifying scores of 535.20 and 570.85, respectively. He is now the fifth diver in DU history to win multiple NCAC Diver of the Year awards.  

In addition, Denison freshman KT Kustritz (St. Paul, MN/Insight School of MN) and Kenyon freshman Connor Rumpit (Brookfield, WI/Central) were named the NCAC Women's and Men's Newcomers of the Year, respectively. Kustritz had a breakout performance at her first championship meet with individual wins in the 100 IM (57.81), 200 IM (2:04.31) and 100 breast (1:02.86), to go along with relay victories in the 200 free (1:34.47), 400 free (3:26.51), 200 medley (1:43.16) and 400 medley (3:45.86). Rumpit logged individual event wins in the 500 free (4:29.17) and 200 fly (1:50.24), while also adding a second-place finish as a member of the 800 free relay (6:38.68).  

After leading the Fighting Scots to a fourth-place finish in the final standings, Wooster head coach Rob Harrington won the NCAC Women's Swimming Coach of the Year award for the second time in his career, while DU head coach Gregg Parini earned the NCAC Men's Swimming Coach of the Year honor for second year in a row and the ninth time in his career. 

Finally, Denison's Russ Bertram was named both the NCAC Women's and Men's Diving Coach of the Year for the first time in his career. 

Visit the championship website for complete results from the 2017 NCAC Swimming & Diving Championships: (NCAC Championship Site)

Check out video highlights and complete coverage of day four HERE.

Swimmer of the Year

Diver of the Year

Newcomer of the Year
Swim Coach of the Year

Diving Coach of the Year

 Jack Lindell, DEN  Max Levy, DEN Connor Rumpit, KEN  Gregg Parini, DEN Russ Bertram, DEN