Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Kenyon Ladies Win 25th NCAC Title

Kenyon earned its league-leading 25th NCAC Swimming & Diving title on Saturday night.
Kenyon earned its league-leading 25th NCAC Swimming & Diving title on Saturday night.

2018 All-NCAC Women's Performers

The Kenyon Ladies topped the team standings for the league-leading 25th time in history as competition wrapped up on Saturday night at the 2018 NCAC Swimming & Diving Championships at the Trumbull Aquatics Center on the campus of Denison University. (VIDEO)

The Kenyon Ladies, who won the league title with 1,953 points, won 12 out of the 21 events contested over the course of the meet and posted 18 additional All-Conference performances to win the conference crown for the second time in the last three years. Denison finished second in the team standings with 1,860 points after winning nine events and logging 17 additional All-NCAC finishes, while Wooster finished third overall for the first time since 2012 with 1,225.5 points. DePauw finished fourth with 1,075.5 points, followed by Allegheny (981), Ohio Wesleyan (806), Oberlin (584), Wittenberg (518) and Hiram (315). 

In her debut at the NCAC meet, Kenyon freshman Crile Hart (Pepper Pike, OH/Hawken) picked up both the 2018 NCAC Women's Swimmer of the Year and Newcomer of the Year awards after picking up victories in six of the seven events that she competed in over the course of the meet. Individually, she set the NCAC record in three different races, highlighted by winning the 200 IM on Thursday night with an NCAA "A" cut time of 1:59.70, which is the only sub two-minute time logged by a Div. III women's swimmer in the event this season. She also picked up individual event titles in the 100 fly (54.55) and the 200 back (1:56.86). Hart also swam a leg on three winning relay teams, led by swimming the lead leg on the winning 400 free relay on Saturday night that set the NCAC record with an NCAA "B" cut time of 3:22.22. Her final two relay victories came in the 200 freestyle (1:32.73) and 200 medley (1:41.18). 

For the second year in a row, Denison sophomore Allison Fitzgerald (Grand Rapids, MI/Forest Hills Central) earned the NCAC Women's Diver of the Year Award after sweeping both boards at the meet. Fitzgerald, who is the first DU women's diver to win the NCAC award in consecutive seasons, posted regional qualifying scores in both events, scoring 449.85 points on the one-meter board and 454.55 in the three-meter competition. 

After leading DU to the men's title for the 10th year in a row, Gregg Parini was named the NCAC Men's Swimming Coach of the Year for the third year in a row and the 10th time in his career, while Kenyon head coach Jess Book earned the 2018 NCAC Women's Swimming Coach of the Year award for the third time in his career.

Finally, Denison's Russ Bertram collected he NCAC Women's Diving Coach of the Year honor for the second year in a row, while Kenyon's Ron Kontura was named the Men's Diving Coach of the Year in his first season with the Lords.

of the Year

of the Year

of the Year
Coach of the Year
Coach of the Year
Crile Hart, KEN

Allison Fitzgerald, DEN

Crile Hart, KEN Jess Book, Kenyon Russ Bertram, DEN