Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

59 NCAC Athletes Named CSCAA Scholar All-Americans

59 NCAC Athletes Named CSCAA Scholar All-Americans

CSCAA Scholar All-America Teams

The College Swimming & Diving Coaches Association (CSCAA) has named 59 North Coast Athletic Conference (NCAC) swimming & diving student-athletes part of its 2018-19 Scholar All-America honorees. 

Denison Men’s & Women’s Swimming & Diving led the conference with 30 selections, 21 of which were on the first team. 12 Big Red women made the first team, including sophomore Mia Chiappe (Hinsdale, IL/Hinsdale Central), junior Caroline Colville (Pittsburgh, PA/Shady Side), sophomore Maddie Hopkins (Chico, CA/Chico), juniors Erica Hsu (Iowa City, IA/West), Casey Kirby (Long Grove, IL/Stevenson), KT Kustritz (St. Paul, MN/St. Paul College), Angela Le (Eagan, MN/Burnsville), Kate Mesaros (Ann Arbor, MI/Dexter), Gabriella Nutter (Johannesburg, South Africa/St. Mary’s School), Hannah Rusinko (North Huntingdon, PA/Norwin), Zoe Whelan (Memphis, TN/St. Agnes Academy) and Natalie Zaravella (Victor, NY/Victor). Women’s honorable mention selections included a pair of freshmen, Annalise Cheshire (Dallas, PA/Dallas Senior) and Grace Kacmarek (Dexter, MI/Dexter).

The men's first team consisted of nine Denison student-athletes, junior James Baker (Honeoye Falls, NY/Honeoye Falls/Lima), senior Carson Clear (Fort Collins, CO/Fossil Ridge), senior Tiernan Foster-Smith (Edina, MN/The Blake School), senior Matthew Hedman (Anoka, MN/Anoka), sophomore Drake Horton (Madison, WI/James Madison Memorial), junior Matthew McHugh (Charlottesville, VA/St. Anne’s Belfield), freshman Liam Picozzi (Ballston Spa, NY/Burnt Hills/Ballston Lake), junior Bebe Wang (Naperville, IL/Metea Valley) and senior Brett Weicht (Edina, MN/Edina). Honorable mention selections were junior Frances Biagioli (Allendale, NJ/Northern Highland), junior PJ Desmet (Shelby Twp., MI/De La Salle Collegiate), freshman Jacob Edwards (Byron Center, MI/Byron Center), freshman Piotr Kurleto (Krakow, Poland/Baylor), senior Sam O’Malley (Paradise Valley, AZ/Chaparral), sophomore Chas Sigloh (Barboursville, VA/Woodbury Forest) and senior Jake Von Der Lippe (Loveland, CO/Thompson Valley).

Kenyon Swimming & Diving netted 26 selections, 20 on the first team. All 11 women’s student-athletes selected from Kenyon were named to the first team, including senior Delaney Ambrosen (Excelsior, MN/Minnetonka), junior Gail Anderson (Silver Springs, MD/Albert Einstein), senior Caitlin Foley (Lewisburg, PA/Lewisburg Area), sophomore Celina German (Bloomington, IN/Bloomington South), sophomore Caylee Hamilton (Wadsworth, IL/Woodlands Academy Sacred), sophomore Crile Hart (Pepper Pike, OH/Hawken School), sophomore Emmerson Mirus (Madison, WI/West), senior Hannah Orbach-Mandel (Tucson, AZ/Catalina Foothills), freshman Andrea Perttula (Idaho Falls, ID/Idaho Falls), junior Kendall Vanderhoof (Glenwood Springs, CO/Glenwood Springs) and senior Abigail Wilson (Westerville, OH/Columbus Academy).

On the men’s side, Kenyon had nine student-athletes selected to the first team, including junior Benjamin Baturka (Drexel Hill, PA/Episcopal Academy), sophomore Marcus Hong (Westlake, OH/St. Ignatius), freshman Mark Lang (Marshall, MI/Marshall), senior Humphrey Pruett (Minneapolis, MN/The Blake School), senior AJ Reid (North Bay Village, FL/Design & Architecture), freshman Nicholas Tong (Taichung, Taiwan/Morrison Academy), junior Thomas Weiss (St. Paul, MN/St. Thomas Academy), senior Robert Williams (Gambier, OH/Mount Vernon) and senior Jonathon Zimdars (Whitewater, WI/Whitewater). Honorable mention selections included junior Kiernan Allsop (Eastleigh, England/King Edward VI), junior Carter Brzezinski (Isle of Palms, SC/Academic Magnet), senior Weston Carpenter (Lafayette, CA/ Acalanes High), sophomore Fielding Fischer (Chevy Chase, MD/Bethesda Chevy Chase), senior Brooks McCoy (Greenville, SC/St. Joseph’s) and senior Ryder Sammons (Kent, CT/Kent School).

Wooster Men’s Swimming & Diving had a pair of selections, senior Cameron Gelwicks (Zionsville, IN/Zionsville Community) was named to the first team while junior Trey Schopen (McHenry, IL/McHenry Community) was an honorable mention selection.

Ohio Wesleyan Women’s Swimming junior Tyler Mansfield (Columbus, OH/Bexley) was also tabbed honorable mention, rounding out the field of 59 selections.

The first team award recognizes student-athletes that have achieved a grade point average of 3.50 or higher and competed at the NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships. Honorable mention status recognizes student-athletes who achieved a GPA of 3.50 and a "B" time standard or competed at an NCAA Regional or Zone Diving qualifier.