Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2011 NCAC Swimming & Diving Championships

2011 Championship


Quick Facts - Notes

Psych Sheet

Day One Recap

Day Two Recap

Day Three Recap

Final Results

Championship History

NCAC Records
Men - Women

2011 Video Provider
Teamline logo

Where to Eat, Stay and Play

Edited: Feb. 14, 2011

Date: Thursday-Saturday, Feb. 10-12 Host: Denison University Site: C.T. Branin Natatorium, Canton, OH

CANTON – The Denison University men and women successfully captured their third consecutive North Coast Athletic Conference Swimming & Diving Championships at the 27th annual event, hosted by the Big Red at C.T. Branin Natatorium, February 10-12.

The Big Red women, who established a meet record after winning 19 out of a possible 20 events, totaled 1,829 points.  Denison won the first 17 events of the meet, before having its streak interrupted on the final day of competition by a Kenyon win in the 200 breaststroke.  In all, the Big Red totaled 52 top-five finishes,  20 NCAA “A” cut swims and six NCAC meet records to edge Kenyon for the third-consecutive year.  The Ladies tallied 1,482 points after touching first in one race and earning 24 top-five finishes.  Allegheny finished in third with 944 points, followed by Wooster (857), Wittenberg (792), Oberlin (627), Ohio Wesleyan (435) and Hiram (298).

The Denison men won 12 events en route to earning 1774.5 points to also edge the Lords for the third-straight year.  In addition to the event wins, the Big Red picked up 45 top-five finishes and earned national championship qualifying standards in 10 races.  Kenyon earned second place with 1572.5 points, followed by Wabash (805), Wittenberg (691), Wooster (671.5), Oberlin (659), Allegheny (633), Ohio Wesleyan (398) and Hiram (334.5).

Denison senior Ksenia Golovkina (Newton, MA/Newton South) was voted the Female Swimmer of the Year after setting meet records and qualifying for the national championships in both the 100 and 200 breaststroke events.  She reached the wall first in the 100 breast with a time of 1:02.91 and shattered the school record in the 200 with a time of 2:16.40.  The previous DU record belonged to Lauren Smith (2:19.59) and had stood since 1999. Denison senior Lizzie Litwak (Loudonville, NY/Albany Academy for Girls) was named the 2011 NCAC Female Diver of the Year after finishing first on the three-meter board with a score of 370.45 and third on the one-meter board with a score of 342.35.

Big Red freshman Al Weik (Lebanon, PA/Cedar Crest) was tabbed the Male Swimmer of the Year after posting individual victories in the 500 and 1650 freestyle events.  Weik’s win in the mile marked the first Denison victory in that event at the championship meet since Bryce Peterson in 2006.  Big Red sophomore Gabe Dixson (New Albany, OH/New Albany) claimed the 2011 NCAC Male Diver of the Year award after sweeping both the one-and three-meter events.  He earned a score of 543.20 on the one-meter board and a mark of 527.75 on the three-meter board.

Denison’s Greg Parini was recognized as the men’s Swimming Coach of the Year, while first-year Allegheny Head Coach Erin Detwiler was named the Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year after leading the Gators to a third-place finish.  Parini, in his 23rd year at the helm of the Denison men’s and women’s swimming & diving programs, collected his fifth male coach of the year award and 13th overall after guiding the Big Red to their third-straight NCAC title.

Denison’s Jason Glorius was named both the men’s and women’s Diving Coach of the Year after guiding the Big Red to victories in all four diving events in his second year with the program. He earned his second straight women’s coaching award.