Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

OWU Wins 9th NCAC Outdoor Track & Field Title

The Ohio Wesleyan men won their league-leading ninth NCAC Outdoor T&F Championships on May 5th at Allegheny College in Meadville, PA
The Ohio Wesleyan men won their league-leading ninth NCAC Outdoor T&F Championships on May 5th at Allegheny College in Meadville, PA

The Ohio Wesleyan men picked up their league-leading ninth outdoor title to wrap up the two days of competition on Saturday at the 2018 NCAC Outdoor Track & Field Championships, held at Allegheny College’s Robertson Athletic Complex in Meadville, Pennsylvania. In the men’s race, Ohio Wesleyan earned 180.00 total points to top the standings and finish 38 points ahead of Wabash (142.00). 

On the men’s side, DePauw checked in at third with 132.00 total points, followed by Allegheny (100.00), Denison (83.00), Oberlin (70.00), Wittenberg (47.50), Kenyon (32.00) and Wooster (28.50). 

Oberlin head coach Ray Appenheimer and his staff collected the NCAC Women’s Coach of the Year honor for the second time in his career, while Ohio Wesleyan head coach Kris Boey and his staff garnered the NCAC Men’s Coach of the Year award for the fifth time in his career.

CLICK HERE for complete results from the 2018 NCAC Track & Field Championships. 

The 2018 NCAA Division III Outdoor Track & Field Championships are set to take place at Roger Harring Stadium and the Veterans Memorial Field Sports Complex in La Crosse, Wisconsin, May 24-26. 

2018 Men's Athlete of the Year Award Winners

Men’s Field: Nate Newman, Ohio Wesleyan

Ohio Wesleyan senior Nate Newman (Chillicothe, OH/Zane Trace) won the 2018 NCAC Men’s Field Athlete of the Year after earning three first-place finishes. He won the decathlon last weekend at Oberlin for the third time in his career with an NCAC-record 6,832 points, before logging a pair of wins this weekend at Allegheny in the pole vault (14’09.00”) and the high jump
(6’04.75”). He also finished fifth in the long jump and sixth overall in the triple jump.

Men’s Sprint/Hurdles: Allen Baugh, Allegheny

Allegheny senior Allen Baugh (Trenton, NJ/United Christian Acad.) is the first Gator runner to win the NCAC Men’s Sprint/Hurdler of the Year award since 2003 after winning two individual events and running a leg on the second-place 4x100 that finished in 42.48. Individually, he won the 100-meter dash in 11.00 and also outraced the field in the 200 in 22.29.

Men’s Distance: Polo Burguete, DePauw

DePauw senior Polo Burguete, DePauw (El Paso, TX/Culver Academies) became the program’s first NCAC Athlete of the Year award winner as he took home the 2018 Distance/Middle Distance honor after winning both the 3,000-meter steeplechase (9:18.70) and the 5,000-meter run in a time of 14:58.47.

Men’s Newcomer of the Year: Cade Richeson, Ohio Wesleyan

Ohio Wesleyan freshman Cade Richeson (Worthington, OH/Thomas Worthington) won the 2018 Newcomer of the Year award after winning the shot put with a heave of 49’10.00” and also topping the field in the discus with a toss of 152’03.00”.

Men's Coach of the Year: Kris Boey, Ohio Wesleyan