Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

NCAC 20th Anniversary Outdoor Track & Field All-Decade Teams Announced

NCAC 20th Anniversary Track & Field All-Decade Teams

Seven active competitors head a list of stellar student-athletes named to the North Coast Athletic Conference’s 20th Anniversary men’s and women’s outdoor track and field teams. All seven competed at the recent NCAC Outdoor Track and Field Championships

Wittenberg senior Skip Ivery (Columbus, OH/Groveport-Madison) and Hiram senior Scott Cothren (Fredericktown, OH/Fredericktown) head a list of 15 men’s indoor track stars in 18 events named to the squad. Ivery was named the 2004 NCAC Sprinter/Hurdler of the Year after winning his third straight title in the 100-meter high hurdles. Cothren finished sixth in the 400 meter hurdles, after winning the event the past two seasons.

Craig Neeley, who competed for Ohio Wesleyan from 1999-02, was a four-time field MVP and eight-time individual event winner. He was named in the long, triple and high jumps and was one of three athletes named in more than one event.

Wooster’s Reggie Ray (1998-00) was a two-time track MVP and a four-time individual event winner. He twice won the 100-meter dash as well as the 200-meter dash. He was named to the team in both of those events. Case Western Reserve’s Ed Kalaher (1993-96) was a two-time field MVP, winning four titles from 1994 to 1996. He was named to the team in the shot put and the discus, after earning three shot put titles and a discus championship.

Denison seniors Jackie Berner (Fredonia, NY/Fredonia), Melanie Cluss (Uniontown, PA/Laurel Higlands) and Laura Finkes (Hebron, OH/Lakewood); Allegheny senior Chelsea Benson (Mt. Jewett, PA/KAne) and Wittenberg senior Geri Woessner (Dayton, OH/Oakwood) are all current students named to the women’s squad. They head up a list of 16 athletes in 19 events named to the squad.

Berner, a three-time sprint/hurdles MVP, was named in the 100 and 200 meters. After the 2004 NCAC Championships, she has won the events a total of seven times - she won the 100-meter dash in each of her four years competing, and won the 200 for the last three. Cluss, named in the 110-meter hurdles, has won her speciality in each of the past four seasons. Finkes, the 2003 field MVP, has won the discus event in each of the past four years.

Benson has swept the past three titles in the 3000-meter steeplechase. She finished fourth at the 2004 conference meet. Woessner won the heptathlon for the third time in four years, after finishing second last season just five months after ACL surgery. Both athletes were named to the anniversary teams in the specialty.

Berner is one of three athletes named to the team in more than one event. Allegheny’s Amy Shuckert, who competed for the Gators from 1996-99, swept titles in the 800- and 1500-meter runs from 1997-99. She was a three-time track MVP for her efforts. Former Gator standout, Tina Chase, finished her career in 1994 - the first year eligible for inclusion in the 20th anniversary team. She won both the 3000- and the 10,000-meter runs and was selected to the team in both events. Shannon Rieder, who competed for Earlham from 1998-01, was a 2000 track MVP and was a six-time event winner in the 5000- and the 10,000-meter runs. She was also selected to the team in both events.

The North Coast Athletic Conference announced 20th Anniversary teams in all of its 22 sports during the 2003-04 academic year. The NCAC was founded in 1983 and began competition in the fall of 1984. The North Coast’s commitment to equity, its broad base of athletic programs and an unwavering insistence on excellence in academics has served as a model for conferences throughout the country.

The NCAC’s 20th Anniversary teams were selected in each sport through balloting by present and former coaches and administrators. Athletes who participated in conference competition between the fall of 1993 through the spring of 2003 were eligible for selection.