Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

DePauw Maintains Lead In 2012-13 NCAC All-Sports Race

2012-13 NCAC Winter All-Sports Update

DePauw University  won one outright league championship to go along with two third-place finishes and two fourth-place finishes to maintain its lead in the race for the 2012-13 North Coast Athletic Conference All-Sports Championship.

The Tigers won the women's basketball title outright and also posted top-four finishes in men's swimming & diving (third), women's swimming & diving (third), men's basketball (tie-third) and women's indoor track & field (fourth). DPU also finished eighth in men's indoor track & field to earn 95.0 total points and a four-point lead over second-place Denison (91.0) in the race for the coveted Dennis M. Collins All-Sports Trophy. The Big Red posted top-three finishes in three sports this winter, including the school's fifth-straight league crowns in both men's and women's swimming & diving.

Ohio Wesleyan, who won the women's indoor track & field  title for the seventh consecutive season, is three points behind the Big Red in third-place with 88.0 points. Kenyon (82.0) placed fourth after finishing second in men's and women's swimming and diving and women's basketball, while Wittenberg (74.0) is fifth with one top-four finish and Wooster (69.5) is sixth after winning its 15th league title in men's basketball. Allegheny is seventh with 68.0 points, followed by Oberlin (60.5), Wabash (41.0) and Hiram (31.0). In addition, Wabash earned its third-straight men's indoor track & field title.

The All-Sports champion earns the Dennis M. Collins All-Sports Trophy, given annually to the school that performs the best across the NCAC's 23 sports. Ten points are awarded for a first-place finish, nine for a second, eight for a third, and so on. Men's and women's performances are combined, exemplifying the North Coast's commitment to equity and balance among programs. Wooster won three of the first four All-Sports championships, interrupted only by Denison in year two. Ohio Wesleyan followed with a six-year run leading to titles by Wooster (twice), Wittenberg (once), Denison (nine), OWU (twice), a tie between Denison and OWU in 2009, Wittenberg in 2010, Denison in 2011 and finally DePauw capturing the title a year ago. 

Ohio Wesleyan leads the way with 136 team championships during the NCAC's 29 playing seasons. Denison is next with 123 titles, followed by Allegheny (109), Kenyon (97) , Wittenberg (78), Wooster (76), Oberlin (12), Wabash (13), DePauw (6) and Hiram (2).

North Coast Athletic Conference 2012-13 All-Sports Standings

School Points
1. DePauw 95.0
2. Denison 91.0
3. Ohio Wesleyan 88.0
4. Kenyon 82.0
5. Wittenberg 74.0
6. Wooster 69.5
7. Allegheny 68.0
8. Oberlin 60.5
9. Wabash* 41.0
10. Hiram 31.0

Wabash is an all-male institution