Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

DePauw Takes Early Lead In 2012-13 NCAC All-Sports Race

2012-13 NCAC Fall All-Sports Standings

DePauw University won one outright championship and finished second in two others to take the lead in the race for the 2012-13 North Coast Athletic Conference All-Sports championship.

The Tigers captured the field hockey title outright for the first time in program history after sharing the crown with Denison a year ago. DPU also posted top-three finishes in women's cross country (third), men's soccer (second), women's soccer (t-third) and volleyball (second). DePauw finished sixth in men's cross country and in a tie for eighth in football to earn 52.0 points and a two-point lead over second-place Ohio Wesleyan (50.0) in the race for the coveted Dennis M. Collins All-Sports Trophy. The Battling Bishops posted top-five finishes in five of the seven NCAC-sponsored sports this fall, including earning a share of the football title for the first time since 1989, and capturing their fifth-straight and 21st all-time men's soccer title.

Denison (45.0), which posted its top finish this fall in field hockey (second), is five points behind the Battling Bishops in third place, while Wittenberg checked in at fourth with 40.5 total points. The Tigers had a hand in three fall championships, winning the women's soccer and volleyball titles outright and earning a share of the football crown. Kenyon, which logged top-three finishes in women's cross country (second) and football (t-third), rounded out the top-five in the all-sports standings with 40.0 points. Rounding out places six through 10 in the standings are Allegheny (37.0), Wooster (35.5), Oberlin (34.0), Hiram (22.5) and Wabash (19.5). Oberlin earned its fourth-straight league title in women's cross country, while Allegheny captured its league-leading 11th men's cross country championship.

The All-Sports champion earns the Dennis M. Collins All-Sports Trophy, given annually to the school that performs the best across the NCAC's 23 sports. Ten points are awarded for a first-place finish, nine for a second, eight for a third, and so on. Men's and women's performances are combined, exemplifying the North Coast's commitment to equity and balance among programs. Wooster won three of the first four All-Sports championships, interrupted only by Denison in year two. Ohio Wesleyan followed with a six-year run leading to titles by Wooster (twice), Wittenberg (once), Denison (nine), OWU (twice), a tie between Denison and OWU in 2009, Wittenberg in 2010, Denison in 2011 and finally DePauw a year ago.

Ohio Wesleyan leads the way with 135 team championships during the NCAC's 29 playing seasons. Denison is next with 121 titles, followed by Allegheny (109), Kenyon (97) , Wittenberg (78), Wooster (75), Oberlin (12), Wabash (12), DePauw (5) and Hiram (2).

North Coast Athletic Conference 2012-13 All-Sports Standings

School Points
1. DePauw 52.0
2. Ohio Wesleyan 50.0
3. Denison 45.0
4. Wittenberg 40.5
5. Kenyon 40.0
6. Allegheny 37.0
7. Wooster 35.5
8. Oberlin 34.0
9. Hiram 22.5
10. Wabash* 19.5

Wabash is an all-male institution