Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

DePauw's Howard Named Jostens Trophy Finalist

DePauw's Howard Named Jostens Trophy Finalist

Courtesy of DePauw Sports Information

DePauw senior guard Maya Howard (St. Louis, Mo./MICDS) is one of 10 women's basketball finalists for the Jostens Trophy which is awarded to the outstanding NCAA Division III men's and women's basketball players who excel on the court, in the classroom, and in the community.  This season marks the 22nd presentation of the awards, with the inaugural trophies bestowed in 1998.

Howard, the North Coast Athletic Conference Player of the Year for the second-straight season, is second on the team in scoring (15.3), while leading with 3.8 assists and 1.6 steals per game. The program's all-time scoring leader with 1,513 career points, Howard was an all-NCAC selection for the fourth straight season including a first team choice each of the last three years.

Off the court, Howard has volunteered with multiple service organizations and particpiated in a service trip to Northern Ireland where she assisted PeacePlayers International (PPI) in its continuing work to bridge the divide between the Catholic and Protestant communities. She volunteered as a basketball coach teaching kid's fundamental skills for basketball and how to be future leaders. A recipient of a DePauw Merit Scholarship, Howard has previously been named to the Tiger Pride Honor Roll for having at least a 3.40 semester grade point average.

The Rotary Club of Salem is responsible for the initial review of nominations and narrowed the collection of candidates over the past two weeks. The Club's Jostens Trophy Committee employs a numerical rating system in determining the lists of finalists. The system ensures an objective process through the first round of vetting. The 20 finalists continue thru the review process, with a national selection committee of 30 or more individuals charged with determining the two winners of the 2019 Jostens Trophy honors.

Listed below are the 10 women's finalists for the 2019 Jostens Trophy:

Lauren Bondi, Smith College
Emma Dorshimer, Gettysburg College
Hillary Hellmann, Case Western Reserve University
Maya Howard, DePauw University
Briana Moore, Bridgewater College
Hannah Neild, Gallaudet University
Victoria Pena, University of Texas at Dallas
Hannah Spaulding, University of St. Thomas
Madison Temple, Thomas More University
Jess Vormelker, Thiel College