Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Kenyon Selected As Preseason Favorite For 30th NCAC Women's Lacrosse Season

Kenyon Selected As Preseason Favorite For 30th NCAC Women's Lacrosse Season

2014 NCAC Women's Lacrosse Preseason Coaches' Poll

Kenyon emerged as the favorite in the 2014 North Coast Athletic Conference women’s lacrosse preseason poll, based on balloting from the league coaches.

The Ladies, which captured the programs first-ever NCAC Championship last year after defeating Wooster in the NCAC Tournament championship game, earned five of nine available first-place votes from league coaches for 75 points. Wittenberg, which posted its second-straight perfect NCAC regular season in 2013 before falling to the Fighting Scots in the NCAC Tournament semifinal, was selected to finish second in the poll after garnering two first-place votes and 72 points. The final first-place vote went to Denison as the Big Red finished third in the poll with 63 points.

Wooster finished fourth in the poll with 56 points, followed by Allegheny (48), Ohio Wesleyan (34) and Oberlin (27), DePauw (21) and Hiram (10). 2014 marks the first time that the NCAC will have a separate regular season and tournament champions.

The Kenyon offense returns four of its top six scorers from a year ago, including reigning NCAC Newcomer of the Year, sophomore Jane Symmes (Concord, NH/Concord) who recorded 60 total points (48g, 12a). Seniors Alex Bair (Darien, CT/Darien) and Amy Morgan (Mt. Kisco, NY/Horace Greeley) are back as well, and will provide experience for the offense after collecting 58 points (47g, 11a) and 28 points (24g 4a) last season, respectively. Head coach Meredith Buzzi, who is the winningest coach in program history, returns to the sidelines to lead the Ladies this spring. In six seasons at the helm, Buzzi owns an overall record of 65-30. 

Denison leads all NCAC squads with 17 conference championships in 29 seasons (1985-1994, ‘96 ,1999-‘01, ‘06 and 2011-12).  Wooster has collected six conference titles (2002-04, ‘07, 2009-10), while Oberlin has earned three (1995, 1997-98), Ohio Wesleyan has garnered two (2005 and ‘08) and Kenyon one (2013). 

Founded in 1983, the North Coast Athletic Conference is made up of ten academically selective colleges and universities - Allegheny College, Denison University, DePauw University, Hiram College, Kenyon College, Oberlin College, Ohio Wesleyan University, Wabash College, Wittenberg University and the College of Wooster, along with affiliate member, Earlham College (field hockey). The NCAC sponsors 23 championship sports, 11 for men and 12 for women.

2014 North Coast Athletic Conference Preseason Women's Lacrosse Coaches' Poll
(first-place votes in parentheses, followed by total points)

1. Kenyon (5) 75
2. Wittenberg (3) 72
3. Denison (1) 62
4. Wooster 56
5. Allegheny 48
6. Ohio Wesleyan 34
7. Oberlin 27
8. DePauw 21
9. Hiram 10