Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

DU Wins NCAC Women's Lacrosse Tournament Crown

DU Wins NCAC Women's Lacrosse Tournament Crown

Third-seeded Denison (13-4) scored nine unanswered goals to end the game en route to collecting a 16-12 victory over top-seeded Wittenberg (14-3) in the 2014 NCAC Women's Lacrosse Tournament championship game on Saturday afternoon in Springfield, Ohio. The Big Red have now won eight NCAC Tournament titles all-time and have earned the league's automatic berth into the NCAA Div. III Tournament, which will mark DU's 16th appearance in the national tournament all-time.

The Big Red found themselves down early, 3-1, but DU answered with three goals in a two-minute span to take a 4-3 lead with 18:00 left in the first half. Following two Wittenberg goals, Denison got back-to-back goals from sophomore Elsie Humes (Greenwood Village, CO/Cherry Creek) to jump back ahead, 6-5, but Wittenberg senior Alie Marousek (Ballson Lake, NY/Portsmouth, NH) found the back of the net with 14 seconds left to send the game into halftime tied at 6-6.

Wittenberg opened the second-half strong with five unanswered goals, including two each from sophomore Carrie Kubasta (Medina, OH/Medina) and senior Logan Warye (Maineville, OH/Kings). The two teams shared a pair of goals in the 22nd minute of the second half to give Wittenberg a 12-7 lead, but the Big Red took over from that point on with nine unanswered goals in the final 20 minutes of action. Freshman Claire Ludlow (Saugatuck, MI/East Grand Rapids) opened the scoring attack with back-to-back goals, while sophomore Carol Allen (Nashville, TN/Ensworth) registered a hat trick in the final 10 minutes.

Ludlow led Denison with four goals, while junior Molly Chapman (Greenwich, CT/Millbrook School) was the points leader in the game with seven on three goals and four assists. Marousek and Warye each had four points for the Tigers, with Warye netting three goals and handing out one assist, and Marousek netting two goals and dishing out two assists.

Defensively, Denison sophomore goalie Laura Van Horn (Wilmette, IL/New Trier) had 10 saves and junior Whitney Powel (Shaker Hts., OH/Westminster School, CT) led the Big Red with nine draw controls and seven groundballs. For Wittenberg, sophomore Katie Reuter (Cleveland, OH/Hathaway Brown) accumulated eight saves, While Marousek led the team with five draw controls and senior Mallory Skrobot (Dublin, OH/Watterson) led the way with five groundballs.

All-Tournament Team

Shelby Stone, Wooster
Emily Turnbull, Wooster
Kelly Dickson, Allegheny
Kellee Cribby, Allegheny
Logan Warye, Wittenberg
Francine Murzynski, Wittenberg
Katie Reuter, Wittenberg
Carrie Kubasta, Wittenberg
Claire Ludlow, Denison
Rachel Pregel, Denison
Molly Chapman, Denison
Whitney Powel, Denison


#1 Wittenberg 19, #4 Wooster 11
#3 Denison 14, #2 Allegheny 13


Denison 16, Wittenberg, 12

Championship - Audio Preview