Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

DU Repeats as NCAC Tournament Champion

DU Repeats as NCAC Tournament Champion

Third-seeded Denison (11-6) topped fourth-seeded Oberlin (11-6), 14-7, with an impressive defensive effort on Saturday afternoon at Piper Stadium in Granville, Ohio to earn its second-straight NCAC Women's Lacrosse Tournament Championship. The Big Red have now won nine NCAC Tournament titles all-time and have earned the league's automatic berth into the NCAA Div. III Tournament, which will mark DU's 17th appearance in the national tournament all-time and fourth in the last five years.

Tied at 1-1 with 20:43 left in the first, Denison scored three-straight goals capped off by an unassisted goal from Claire Ludlow (Saugatuck, MI/East Grand Rapids) at the 7:13 mark to take a 4-1 advantage. Ludlow would add another before half, her second of the frame, as the Big Red took an 8-3 lead into the half.

Oberlin opened the second period of play with back-to-back goals, the second scored by
Sydney Garvis (Lexington, VA/Rockbridge County) off an assist from Grace Barlow (Elm Grove, WI/Brookfield East) with 11:46 remaining to cut the Denison lead to three but Yeowomen were unable to get any closer.

Defensively, Denison successfully cleared 19 of their 20 opportunities, while Oberlin was 20-for-28 in clear attempts. DU also held a 22-20 edge in ground balls.

In the goal, DU freshman goalie
Becca Jones (Wolfeboro, NH/Brewster Acad.) made eight saves on 18 shot attempts, while Oberlin's Alexa L'Insalata (Plainsboro Township, NJ/West Windsor-Plainsboro North) faced 33 shots and made 11 saves for the Yeowomen.

Barlow would finish the game with two goals and one assist to lead Oberlin with three total points.

Junior attack
Carol Allen (Nashville, TN/Ensworth) played a part in half of Denison's goals and finished the game with four goals and three assists for a game-high seven points for the Big Red. 

All-Tournament Team

Olivia Lash, Wittenberg
Logan Warye, Wittenberg
Ellie Hudson-Heck, Wooster
Molly Sennett, Wooster
Kate Hanick, Oberlin
Marissa Maxfield, Oberlin
Alexa L'Insalata, Oberlin
Grace Barlow, Oberlin
Becca Jones, Denison
Kelsey Wright, Denison
Melissa Weinsz, Denison
Whitney Powel, Denison

Semifinals: Wednesday, April 29th
Championship: Saturday, May 2nd

#4 Oberlin 13, #1 Wittenberg 9 {Box Score}

Denison 14, Oberlin 7 {Box Score}

#3 Denison 14, #2 Wooster 11 {Box Score}

History -- Tournament Stats -- Tickets -- Directions

Semifinal Recaps

Third-seeded Denison (10-6) entered the lockeroom at halftime with a 6-5 lead and outscored second-seeded Wooster (13-4) by an 8-6 margin in the second half en route to collecting a 14-11 victory over the Fighting Scots in Wednesday night's semifinal game in Wooster. With the victory, the Big Red will now host fourth-seeded Oberlin (11-5) in the championship game on Saturday afternoon at 1:00 p.m. after the Yeowomen upset top-seeded Wittenberg (11-4), 13-9, earlier tonight (4/29) in Springfield. The Scots struck first with a goal from junior attack Jamie Wren-Jarvis (Novato, CA/Sonoma Acad.) at the 27:32 mark in the first half, but the Big Red responded with four-straight scores, capped off by a goal from junior attack Kelsey Wright (Richmond, VA/The Steward School) to take a 4-1 lead with 15:36 left in the first half. The Scots did even the score at 5-5 with 1:14 left in the first on a goal from junior midfielder Ellie Hudson-Heck (Medina, OH/Medina), however, DU again had an answer and got a goal from sophomore midfielder Reid Hirschey (Edina, MN/Edina) with just 11 seconds in the first half to take a one-point lead at intermission. The Big Red kept the momentum going throughout the second half, scoring four of the first six goals in the half and holding off a late Wooster rally en route to posting the three-point victory. The Big Red, who held a narrow 31-25 edge in the shot column, were led by junior attack Lizzy Pellicane (Short Hills, NJ/Morristown-Beard) with five goals and one assist, while Hudson-Heck paced the scots with five goals and six groundballs. In the goal, DU freshman goalie Becca Jones (Wolfeboro, NH/Brewster Acad.) made eight saves on 25 shot attempts, while Wooster junior Isabel Perman (St. Louis, MO/Webster Groves) faced 31 shots and made 11 saves for the Scots.

Fourth-seeded Oberlin (4-4, 11-5) upset top-seeded Wittenberg (8-0, 11-4), 13-9, in Springfield, Ohio on Wednesday afternoon to advance the Yeowomen to the NCAC Women's Lacrosse Tournament Championship for the first time in 15 years. Leading 7-6 to open up the second half, Oberlin scored three straight goals in the first 6:33 of the frame, including a pair of goals from Grace Barlow (Elm Grove, WI/Brookfield East) just 13 seconds apart to take control of the contest. The Yeowomen would account for six of the first seven goals in the second to open up a 13-7 lead with 7:08 left in the game.  Wittenberg's Olivia Lash (Cleveland Heights, OH/Cleveland Heights) tallied a pair of goals late to pull the Tigers within four but Oberlin was able to close out the contest with a pair of long possessions in the final two minutes. Oberlin held a 16-8 advantage in draw controls and a 35-23 edge in ground balls, which led to the Yeowomen outshooting Wittenberg, 27-20.  Wittenberg junior Katie Reuter (Cleveland, OH/Hathaway Brown)corralled five saves in net for the Tigers, while Alexa L'Insalata (Plainsboro Township, NJ/West Windsor-Plainsboro North)made four saves for Oberlin. Wittenberg senior Logan Warye (Maineville, OH/Kings) finished with three goals and one assist, while also contributing four ground balls and team-leading totals of six draw controls and six caused turnovers. Barlow registered a game-high six points on four goals and two assists for the Yeowomen to go along with three caused turnovers and one ground ball. Oberlin will face the winner of Wednesday's second semifinal contest, third-seeded Denison at second-seeded Wooster. 


Wittenberg (8-0, 11-3) has claimed the top seed in the 2015 NCAC Women's Lacrosse Tournament, which begins with semifinal match-ups on Wednesday. The Tigers entertain fourth-seeded Oberlin (4-4, 10-5) at 5:00 PM, while second-seeded Wooster (7-1, 13-3) welcomes third-seeded Denison (6-2, 9-6) at 7:00 PM. The championship game will be held on Saturday afternoon at 1:00 PM at the site of the highest remaining seed to emerge from the semifinal round. The tournament winner receives the league's automatic bid into the NCAA Div. III Tournament.

Denison leads the way with 17 NCAC titles all-time (1985-1994, '96, 1999-'01, '06, '11-'12), followed by Wooster with six (2002-04, '07, '09, '10), Oberlin with three (1995, '97-'98), Ohio Wesleyan ('05, '08) and Wittenberg ('14-'15) with two each and Kenyon (2013) and with one.