Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2014 All-NCAC Women's Lacrosse Team Announced

2014 All-NCAC Women's Lacrosse Team Announced

2014 All-NCAC Women's Lacrosse Team

Kenyon senior defender Susie Gurzenda (Somerset, PA/St. Andrews) and Wittenberg senior midfielder Francine Murzynski (Mentor, OH/Lake Catholic) have been named the Defensive and Offensive Players of the Year, respectively, to highlight the 2014 All-North Coast Athletic Conference women's lacrosse selections.

Gurzenda {far left}, who makes her debut on the All-NCAC team as a first-team selection, was a key cornerstone for the Ladies' defensive unit this season as she led the squad with 40 groundballs. Gurzenda also added 15 draw controls, 11 caused turnovers and seven goals in 15 total games for KC in 2014.

Murzynski {middle left} is making her third-straight appearance on the first team after she helped guide Wittenberg to its first league title in program history. The Tigers finished the regular season with a perfect 8-0 record against league foes. In 17 games on the year, she tied for fifth in the league in points with 68 after netting 41 goals and passing out 27 assists. Murzynski, who was second in the league with 98 draw controls, also contributed on the defensive side of the field with 61 groundballs and 30 caused turnovers.

Denison junior attack Molly Chapman (Greenwich, CT/Millbrook School) and Allegheny junior Kelsey Rodgers (Wolfeboro, NH/Kingswood Regional) are both making their second-straight appearance on the first team and third All-NCAC selection overall. Rodgers was a second-team selection in 2012, while Chapman was an honorable-mention selection the same year.

Wooster junior Molly Sennett (Rochester, NY/Brighton) makes her second career appearance on the first team and third All-NCAC selection overall. Sennett was selected to the top team in 2012 and was a second-team selection last spring.

Four players garnered first-team honors for the second year in a row, including Allegheny sophomore attack McKenzie Bell (Akron, OH/Walsh Jesuit), Wittenberg junior attack Logan Warye (Maineville, OH/Kings), Wooster sophomore midfielder Ellie Hudson-Heck (Medina, OH/Medina) and Denison junior midfielder Whitney Powel (Shaker Hts., OH/Westminster School, CT).

Kenyon senior Alex Bair (Darien, CT/Darien) elevated to the top squad in 2013 after earning second-team laurels in 2011 and 2013.

Allegheny senior defender Carly Minsterman (Pittsburgh, PA/Seton-La Salle) elevated to the top team after collecting honorable-mention accolades last year, while Allegheny freshman goalie Kaelin Clogan (Pittsburgh, PA/Pine Richland), Wooster senior attack Eliza Perry (Southport, CT/Proctor Academy) and Denison junior defender Isabel Swicklik (Baltimore, MD/Friends School) all made their All-NCAC debut this season on the top team.

Denison freshman Claire Ludlow (Saugatuck, MI/East Grand Rapids) {middle right} was selected as the Newcomer of the Year by vote of the league coaches. Ludlow, who also garnered honorable-mention accolades this spring, has netted 44 goals and handed out five assists in 16 games this season.

Denison head coach Amanda Daniels {far right} earned Coach of the Year honors by vote of the league coaches in her first season at the helm of the Big Red Program. Daniels guided DU to a third-place finish in the regular season standings with a 6-2 record against league foes, but the Big Red turned it on in the tournament and posted back-to-back wins over second-seeded Allegheny and top-seeded Wittenberg to earn the program's eighth NCAC Tournament title. The Big Red will open play in the 2014 NCAA Division III Women's Lacrosse Tournament on Saturday, May 10, against Washington & Lee (16-2) in Lexington, Virginia.