Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2015 All-NCAC Women's Lacrosse Team Announced

2015 All-NCAC Women's Lacrosse Team Announced

2015 All-NCAC Women's Lacrosse Team

Oberlin sophomore goalie Alexa L'Insalata (Plainsboro Twp., NJ/West Windsor-Plainsboro North) and Wittenberg senior midfielder Logan Warye (Maineville, OH/Kings) have been named the Defensive and Offensive Players of the Year, respectively, to highlight the 2015 All-North Coast Athletic Conference women's lacrosse selections.

L'Insalata, who earned second team honors in 2014, makes her debut on the All-NCAC first team in 2015. She was the cornerstone of the Yeowomen’s defensive unit this season that lead the program to double-digit wins (11) for just the second time in the last 15 years.   In eight NCAC contests, she finished second in the league in saves per game (9.38), tied for third in saves percentage (.493) and her goals-against average of 9.51 was best among all league goalies that appeared in every NCAC contest. L'Insalata is just the fifth goalie in NCAC history to receive defensive player of the year honors and the first since 2010 when Kenyon’s Chase Kreuter earned the award.

Warye makes her third-straight appearance on the first team after she helped guide Wittenberg to its second-straight league title and fourth consecutive unbeaten regular season mark in league play at 8-0. Warye led a Tiger offense that finished first in the league with 146 goals in conference play. She led all scorers during league action finishing first in goals (44), goals per game (5.5), shots (69) and shots per game (8.62). The senior registered three game-winning goals on the year and her 6.62 points per game in NCAC play was second best in the conference. Warye, who was second in the league with 50 draw controls, also contributed on the defensive side of the field with 33 groundballs and 17 caused turnovers in league play.

Wooster senior Molly Sennett (Rochester, NY/Brighton) makes her third career appearance on the first team and fourth All-NCAC selection overall. Sennett was selected to the top team last spring and in 2012 and was a second-team selection in 2013.

Denison senior midfielder Whitney Powel (Shaker Hts., OH/Westminster School, CT) and Wooster junior midfielder Ellie Hudson-Heck (Medina, OH/Medina) garner first-team honors for the third year in a row.

Oberlin junior attack Grace Barlow (Elm Grove, WI/Brookfield East), Wooster senior attack Shelby Stone (Grosse Pointe Park, MI/Grosse Point South) and Denison senior midfielder Erin Keller (Sewickley, PA/Sewickley Academy) are all make their second appearance on an All-NCAC squad and first on the top squad. Barlow earned second team honors in 2014, Stone was named honorable mention last spring and Keller was named to the second team in 2013.

Kenyon junior Jane Symmes (Concord, NH/Concord) appears on the first team for the second time, returning after earing the accolade in 2013.

Five players make their first appearance on an All-NCAC squad as first-team selections, including Wittenberg sophomore attack Becca Joseph (Toledo, OH/St. Ursula), Wooster sophomore defender Wynn Boehmcke (Mountain Lakes, NJ/Mountain Lakes), Denison senior defender Melissa Weinsz (North Canton, OH/Green), Wittenberg senior defender Mary Ann White (Indianapolis, IN/Cathedral) and Kenyon freshman attack Kat Englert (Centennial, CO/Arapahoe).

Englert was also selected as the NCAC’s Newcomer of the Year. She led the Ladies’ with 45 points on 36 goals and nine assists as Kenyon finished the year with a 4-4 mark in league play.

Oberlin head coach Lynda McCandlish earned Coach of the Year honors by vote of the league coaches in just her second season at the helm of the Yeowomen Program. McCandlish guided Oberlin to a tied for fourth-place finish in the regular season standings with a 4-4 record against league foes. The four wins in conference play is the most for the program since 2000 and with an 11-6 overall record, McCandlish has led the Yeowomen to back-to-back winning seasons for the first time since the 1999-2000 seasons.

Player of the Year

Player of the Year
Newcomer of the Year Coach of the Year
Logan Warye

Alexa L'Insalata

Kat Englert Lynda McCandlish