Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2016 All-NCAC Women's Lacrosse Team Announced

2016 All-NCAC Women's Lacrosse Team Announced

2016 All-NCAC Women's Lacrosse Team

Wittenberg senior defender Carrie Kubasta (Medina, OH/Medina) and Kenyon senior midfielder Jane Symmes (Concord, NH/Concord) have been named the Defensive and Offensive Players of the Year, respectively, to highlight the 2016 All-North Coast Athletic Conference women's lacrosse selections.  

Kubasta makes her debut on the All-NCAC first team after earning second-team laurels in 2015 and honorable-mention accolades in 2014. She ranked second in the NCAC this season in conference games with 17 caused turnovers, while also scooping up 22 ground balls and collecting 21 draw controls against league foes. While her main contributions for the Tigers came on the defensive side of the ball, she also added offensive production in the eight regular season conference games with 16 goals and four assists for 20 total points. Kubasta joins Katie Warner (2013) and Cara Romanowski (2002) as the as the only three Wittenberg players to be named the NCAC's Defensive Player of the Year. 

Symmes, who is making her third overall appearance on the top team, was arguably the NCAC's most versatile player in league games this season as she led the conference in ground balls (37) and caused turnovers (22), while also ranking fourth in points with 41 on 28 goals and 13 assists. She closed out the 2016 season with five-straight hat tricks, capped off by a six-goal, one-assist performance in the Ladies' final game of the season, a 20-3 victory over Hiram. Symmes is just the second Kenyon player in program history to be named the NCAC Offensive Player of the Year, joining Leah Sack who earned the honor in 2013.  

Wooster senior midfielder Ellie Hudson-Heck (Medina, OH/Medina) makes her fourth-straight appearance on the first team, while Allegheny senior McKenzie Bell (Akron, OH/Walsh Jesuit) was named to the top team for the third time in her career after also collecting second-team honors last spring. Oberlin senior midfielder Grace Barlow (Elm Grove, WI/Brookfield East) and junior goalie Alex L'Insalata (Plainsboro, Twp., NJ/West Windsor-Plainsboro North) were both repeat selections on the top team, to go along with earning second-team certificates in 2014. 

Three players were selected to the top team for the second year in a row, including Wooster junior defender Wynn Boehmcke (Mountain Lakes, NJ/Mountain Lakes), Kenyon sophomore attack Kat Englert (Centennial, CO/Arapahoe) and Wittenberg junior attack Becca Joseph (Toledo, OH/St. Ursula)

Denison senior attack Carol Allen (Nashville, TN/Ensworth) jumped to the top team this year after earning second-team laurels in 2013 and honorable-mention accolades in both 2014 and '15, while DU junior midfielder Claire Ludlow (Saugatuck, MI/East Grand Rapids) also elevated to the first team this spring after collecting second-team honors in 2015 and an honorable-mention nod in 2014. 

Wittenberg senior attack Olivia Lash (Cleveland Hts., OH/Cleveland Hts.) landed on the top team this year after being named to the second team in 2014, while Denison freshman defender Jane Goodspeed (East Grand Rapids, MI/East Grand Rapids) and Allegheny junior defender Jessie Thiessen (Pittsburgh, PA/Fox Chapel) both make their All-NCAC debut on the 2016 first team. 

Goodspeed was also selected as the 2016 NCAC Newcomer of the Year by vote of the league coaches after ranking in the top-six in league games in both caused turnovers (15 - T4th) and draw controls (30 - 5th). Goodspeed, who was named to the 2016 NCAC All-Tournament team, also finished the regular season campaign with 19 ground balls against league foes. 

Denison head coach Amanda Daniels was named the NCAC Women's Lacrosse Coach of the Year for the second time in her career after she guided DU to both the NCAC regular season and tournament championships. In three years at Denison, Daniels has amassed on overall record of 37-17, which includes a mark of 20-4 in league games. She will also be leading the Big Red into the NCAA Tournament for the third year in a row, as they are set to take on Mary Washington on Sunday (5/15) in Fredericksburg, Virginia.

Player of the Year

Player of the Year
Newcomer of the Year Coach of the Year
Jane Symmes

Carrie Kubasta

Jane Goodspeed Amanda Daniels