Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2019 All-NCAC Women's Lacrosse Team Announced

2019 All-NCAC Women's Lacrosse Team Announced

2019 All-NCAC Women's Lacrosse Team

CLEVELAND, OH -- Kenyon senior Cassie Hudson-Heck (Medina, OH/Medina), Denison senior Jane Goodspeed (East Grand Rapids, MI/East Grand Rapids), and Wooster senior Megan Healy (Ottawa Hills, OH/Ottawa Hills) have been named the Players of the Year to highlight the 2019 All-North Coast Athletic Conference Women's Lacrosse selections following balloting by the league coaches. 

Hudson-Heck, who is making her second-straight appearance on the first team and earned her third All-NCAC certificate overall after collecting honorable-mention laurels as a freshman, was named the 2019 NCAC Women's Lacrosse Offensive Player of the Year. In seven conference games in which the senior played, she recorded 34 goals, four assists, 25 ground balls, 11 caused turnovers, and one draw control. The attacker scored five or more goals in five of the seven NCAC games that she played in, which included netting a season-best eight goals in a win over Hiram on April 10. She is just the third player in program history to earn the NCAC Offensive Player of the Year award and the first since Jane Symmes took home the honor in 2016. 

Healy, who is making her third-consecutive appearance on the first team, garnered the NCAC Midfielder of the Year honor after helping guide the Fighting Scots to a near-perfect 7-1 record in conference play. Through eight conference games, the senior tallied 15 goals and 10 assists, to go along with a league-leading 35 ground balls. She also earned 61 draw controls and 16 caused turnovers in conference action. Impressively, Healy posted at least two goals, three ground balls, five draws and one caused turnover in five of the eight conference games. 

Goodspeed, who is now a four-time All-NCAC first-team selection, has earned back-to-back NCAC Defensive Player of the Year honors after leading the Big Red's defensive unit. The senior’s backline led the conference in goals-against-average (4.38) and recorded the second most ground balls (175) and caused turnovers (96) in league play. Goodspeed, who was the 2016 Newcomer of the Year, tallied 27 ground balls against conference foes this season, to go along with 80 draw controls and 17 caused turnovers. In conference play, she tied her season-high eight ground balls in a win over Oberlin on April 3, before winning a season-best 18 draw controls in a win over DePauw on April 13.

Denison junior attack Kiely Noonan (Wellesley, MA/Wellesley) and Oberlin junior defender Emily Berner (Reisterstown, MD/The Park School) join Goodspeed, Healy and Hudson-Heck as repeat selections on the first team from 2018. Noonan and Berner also earned second-team honors in 2017. Kenyon junior midfielder Avery Morgan (Mount Kisco, NY/Holderness) jumped up to the top team this season after earning second team accolades last spring. 

Kenyon senior attack Lucy Somers (Westwood, MA/Westwood), Oberlin junior midfielder Eliza Amber (Chelsea, VT/Chelsea) and Wittenberg senior attack Emily Wadds (Cincinnati, OH/Wyoming) also made the leap to the top team after the claiming honorable-mention laurels a season ago. Amber and Wadds additionally earned first-team honors in 2017, while Amber was named the 2017 Newcomer of the Year.

The final three players on the top team are making their All-NCAC debuts this season, including Allegheny sophomore defender Gretchen Barbera (Yarmouth, ME/Yarmouth), Denison freshman midfielder Casey McTague (Arlington, VA/Stone Ridge) and Wooster sophomore goalie Katie Shideler (Gibsonia, PA/North Allegheny).

In addition to first-team honors, McTague was named the 2019 NCAC Newcomer of the Year as the top player in her first year of collegiate competition after she finished the conference regular season with 22 goals, 11 ground balls, 23 draw controls and seven caused turnovers. She scored two or more goals in six different NCAC games this season, highlighted by a season-high five-goal effort in a win over Oberlin on April 3. McTague is the fifth Denison player to earn the NCAC Newcomer of the Year and first since Goodspeed earned the accolades in 2016.

Finally, Wooster head coach Elizabeth Ford was named the NCAC Women's Lacrosse Coach of the Year for the third time in her career after claiming the honor a season ago and also sharing the award with Kenyon's Jill Boffa in 2007. In 2019, Ford led the Scots to a single-season school record of 16 overall wins, which included a second-place finish in the final NCAC standings with a 7-1 mark against conference opponents. In her 14 total seasons at Wooster, Ford owns an overall record of 160-67-1, highlighted by leading the Scots to NCAC titles in 2007, '09 and '10.


Player of the Year
Player of the Year
Player of the Year
of the Year
of the Year


Cassie Hudson-Heck

Megan Healy

Jane Goodspeed

Casey McTague

Elizabeth Ford