NCAC Nabs Six NCAA Women's Tennis Selections

NCAC Nabs Six NCAA Women's Tennis Selections

Contributions from Kenyon, Denison and DePauw Athletics

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- The NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Committee selected the individuals who will compete in the singles and doubles competition of the 2019 NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Championships.

Among the selections were Kenyon senior Maggie Sweeney (Grosse Pointe, MI/Gross Pointe South) and sophomore Erika Oku (Hinsdale, IL/Hinsdale Central), while Denison seniors Emma Alsup (Nashville, TN/Harpeth Hall) and Lauren Hawley (Dayton, OH/Archbishop Alter) were also selected. DePauw seniors Megan Galle (Columbus, IN/Columbus East) and Sarah Wilder (Batesville, IN/Oldenburg Academy) rounded out the NCAC selections as alternates and eventually called upon to compete on the national stage.

The duos of Sweeney/Oku and Alsup/Hawley were among 16 pairings selected for the doubles championship, while Oku was one of 32 players picked to play in the singles championship. DePauw's duo of Galle/Wilder was selected as the third doubles alternate and eventual doubles championship participants.

The national committee selected seven singles players and three doubles teams from each of the four regions. Additionally, the committee selected the remaining four singles players and four doubles team berths from a national at-large pool. The selection of teams and individuals for the championships was based on win-lost record, strength of schedule and eligibility and availability of student-athletes.

The singles and doubles championships will take place May 24-26, both at Stowe Stadium in Kalamazoo, Michigan. The draw for the championship brackets will be completed by the women's tennis committee and will be released May 23.